Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Old 3rd June 2017, 23:12   #10471

Re: Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here

Need advise from experts... Do we get H7 LED bulbs in India? I am planning to get LEDs for Ciaz but not sure if any good quality LED bulb replacement is available. If yes then please help me out with some good brands
Old 5th June 2017, 00:11   #10472

I just bought a Brio. I wish to upgrade to projector headlamps. The Honda dealer says that messing with the wiring or doing anything of such sort will end my warranty and so does the service centre. Is that true?
Old 5th June 2017, 08:19   #10473

Originally Posted by sachinlalwani View Post
I just bought a Brio. I wish to upgrade to projector headlamps. The Honda dealer says that messing with the wiring or doing anything of such sort will end my warranty and so does the service centre. Is that true?
Hi sachinlalwani- any change to the stock set up will void warranty. Ideally only the electrical warranty should be void but the service advisors can play spoilt sport unless you can manage them . As this is a new car, suggest you upgrade to better bulbs or look for upgrades where there is no cuts/ slicing done to the wires.In case you want to buy a projector and can manage the service advisor on the warranty issues , buy a quality one rather than the lousy ones in the market. Hope this helps.
Old 5th June 2017, 08:24   #10474

Adding to what Ananth says. When you say upgrade, who do you plan to do it ? Any imported full head-lamp units available ? From what I have read, modifying the existing lamps to put in a projector is not always successful. Some have even reported loss of alignment by just going over a pot-hole hard !

In case you do go the projector way, try to use 35W kits instead of 55W.
condor is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th June 2017, 11:07   #10475

Originally Posted by samkat1 View Post
Need advise from experts... Do we get H7 LED bulbs in India? I am planning to get LEDs for Ciaz but not sure if any good quality LED bulb replacement is available. If yes then please help me out with some good brands
Even I'm on the same boat. Philips have X-treme Ultinon LED in India, atleast in their official web PAGE

Checked with a Philips dealer recently in Bangalore "AK Tardred JC Road" and heard that this is yet to be launched in India.

You may get Chinese versions easily from AliExpress but performance and reliability will always a question.

For low beam planning to settle with HID for time being and for high beam wait until Philips / Osram to launch H7 LED in India.

treadmark is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th June 2017, 12:04   #10476

Originally Posted by treadmark View Post
Even I'm on the same boat. Philips have X-treme Ultinon LED in India, atleast in their official web PAGE

Checked with a Philips dealer recently in Bangalore "AK Tardred JC Road" and heard that this is yet to be launched in India.

You may get Chinese versions easily from AliExpress but performance and reliability will always a question.

For low beam planning to settle with HID for time being and for high beam wait until Philips / Osram to launch H7 LED in India.

I think it would be a better idea not to go for Chinese models from Aliexpress. As my night time travel is limited, I'm thinking of going with Osram Night Breaker Laser H7 for both low and high beam. Do you have any idea about it? Or is it only the low beam that I should be changing? Will switch to LED once they are officially available here in Hyderabad or ask any friend to get it from abroad.

Cheers...
Old 6th June 2017, 18:23   #10477

Originally Posted by outdoorlover View Post
Just changed my fused Philips Xtreme Vision low beam bulb with Osram Night Breaker Unlimited on my Honda City. I can already see that brightness of the Osram NBU is well above the Philips XV which was improvement over the stock Philips lamp that were fitted as OEM
Hello outdoorlover,

Could you kindly share from where you sourced the bulbs and how much you paid for them? (the MRP on the packaging says Rs. 3000/-)

I am in the same boat as you were earlier and have been searching for a reliable source to buy the Osram NBU. Online resellers are quoting Rs.3500/- for Osram NBU H11.

Thank you in advance
Old 6th June 2017, 21:14   #10478

Originally Posted by themonster View Post
Hello outdoorlover,

Could you kindly share from where you sourced the bulbs and how much you paid for them? (the MRP on the packaging says Rs. 3000/-)

I am in the same boat as you were earlier and have been searching for a reliable source to buy the Osram NBU. Online resellers are quoting Rs.3500/- for Osram NBU H11.

Thank you in advance

Hi, bought my NBUs from Amazon Prime and they cost me Rs2850 for a pair. Quite happy with the performance.
outdoorlover is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th June 2017, 23:12   #10479

In a peculiar situation. The accessories guy who fixed my new headlight bulbs messed up the alignment of my reflector. It seems to have come off from one of the mounting slots and is now pointed slightly upwards. Fiat service center folks said I need to replace the entire headlight assembly (obvious response) as the screws that keep the reflector in place have broken.
Is there any recommended FNG/specialist in Chennai where I can get this fixed?
Old 7th June 2017, 14:31   #10480

I wish to upgrade to projector headlamps. The Honda dealer says that messing with the wiring or doing anything of such sort will end my warranty and so does the service centre. Is that true?
100% true.
Not just honda, it is the same way with all companies and their dealers.
No dealer would honor warranty if the OE wiring is tampered or original fitments altered.

The damage or repair may not have occurred because of the modification, but most companies are looking for the slightest reasons to deny the warranty.

There is an even more serious aspect than that - the Insurance company can also deny your claim if they happen to find out that any such modification has been done.

So in the event of an unfortunate incident like, say a fire, the chances are high that you won't get any compensation from either the company's warranty scheme or from the Insurance company.

There can be 100 other reasons for that fire, but they will just establish that this electrical modification was the only reason.

So why do you want to take risk?

For the time being, atleast until the warranty gets over, do some fully reversible upgrades like Philips XV or 100/90 Philips Rallys with plug & play heavy-duty wiring kit & relay.

These don't require any wiring cuts or tampering.
If required, they can be fully reversed to OE setting within 5 minutes.
Old 8th June 2017, 08:52   #10481

Originally Posted by prkiran View Post
In a peculiar situation. The accessories guy who fixed my new headlight bulbs messed up the alignment of my reflector. It seems to have come off from one of the mounting slots and is now pointed slightly upwards. Fiat service center folks said I need to replace the entire headlight assembly (obvious response) as the screws that keep the reflector in place have broken.
Is there any recommended FNG/specialist in Chennai where I can get this fixed?
Hi Kiran, check if the headlight levelling function is still working on the headlight. If it is working, then all it needs is realignment by making use of the alignment screws. If not, then read further. The vertical alignment is done by the headlight levelling motor which has a moving arm which slides in and out as the motor spins. This sliding arm is connected to the reflector dome through a ball and socket joint. Since the reflector is meant to be moved by the headlight levelling motor, the reflector is not screwed and is floating. When the bulbs are replaced, one must not put too much pressure while seating the bulb. It is anyway meant to be just seated and secured by a snap lock and not shoved into place. Maybe your installer would have done the latter, which would have led to the joint between the sliding arm and reflector to be broken or mostly the ball would have come out of the socket.

This can be fixed in two ways, one by opening up the headlight and the other by snapping the ball joint back into place by trial and error. First locate where the motor is, and after removing the bulb, grab the reflector at the bulb mounting hole and pull it towards the side of the motor. I had done this on my uncles alto and it worked like a charm, but will take some time to get it right. If the motor is located below the reflector, setting the leveller to the uppermost position and vice versa will help get the job done easier and quicker.
Old 8th June 2017, 14:31   #10482

I need advise on headlight upgrades for 2017 Honda City Model (VMT). This one does not come with FF LED Headlight setup & what I learnt from the group members is that it would cost around 75k to get that installed.

Therefore, I would request fellow members to suggest me any compatible LED
bulbs or 4300K equivalent halogen replacements for the VMT model so that I can improve the visibility and don't play with the warranty. I guess below is the bulb specifications as per BHPian (Altocumulus).

High Beam: 60W (HB3) Low beam: 55W (H11).
Old 9th June 2017, 03:49   #10483

No need to fret so much, other members might be unaware but the Mobilio RS which is a stretched Brio essentially came with factory installed projector lamps. These lamps can be fitted directly to your brio, buy them from Honda or another source and get them fitted and to be doubly sure, check the connectors.

I have seen a brio with Mobilio Rs projectors working absolutely fine, so it is a possible retrofit. Might be a little expensive though.
Jag4 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th June 2017, 09:08   #10484

Originally Posted by PearlJam View Post
Thanks for all your inputs!

Just to clarify, I already have the OEM projectors in my Verna 4S. They work pretty well, but it lacks LED DRLs. I have three main requirements, in order of priority:
  1. No wire cutting for the sake of warranty
  2. Add LED DRLs that doesn't stick out like a sore thumb. Some people put an extra LED strip, which I do not want.
  3. Increase brightness of the OEM projectors. Though they are OK, a little more brightness would do no harm!
The pre-facelift Verna used to have an option for OEM projectors that came along with LED DRLs. But the issues with them are (a) Way too expensive, more than a lakh for a set (b) Doesn't look that great anyway for that price (c) Brightness of LED DRLs is low (I've seen on a couple on the road), and brightness of projectors is same as what I already have.

Upgrading the Halogens to 100w may not be worth it, mainly due to the extra heat and other relay/changes anyway. I may as well move to HIDs in that case.

If I want to only meet my requirement (1) above, then there is also an option of buying the foglamp that has DRLs in it - They involve just a straight replacement of the OEM fog lamps:

But again, these are relatively cheap chinese replacements from aliexpress, and I'm not sure of the brightness of the DRLs, as well as reliability.

Thoughts?
These are what OEM DRLs on Accent Solaris(Russian version) look like.

Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here-hyundaisolarisfacelift2014moscowliveleddrl.jpg
Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here-hyundaisolarisfacelift2014moscowliveleddrl1.jpg
Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here-hyundaisolarisfacelift2014moscowliveleddrl2.jpg

I tried looking for them but, they prove extremely hard to find.
These ones look way better in my opinion.

Also, the pre-facelift verna had LED 'parking lights' and they were never meant to be used as DRLs, just like what you see in present gen Creta.

Last edited by sohail99 : 9th June 2017 at 09:14.
sohail99 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th June 2017, 09:55   #10485

Long back, we used to get Halonix halogen bulbs which gave very bright yellow light with a bluish hue around the bulbs. Any idea if these bulbs are still around? Where can I get them?

I found an eBay link which shows similar buls.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LOT-OF-10-...-/172457486416