Old 3rd January 2022, 19:27   #1606

Re: 2021 Tata Safari Review

You are in love with your car when you park the car and start walking, but then you turn around to see and admire the ride you bought

We got our XZA+ in Nov 2021

While I was scared that it could be a lemon, thankfully, 3500 kms done, no issue as such.

Most of the KMs done are to my farm, while I wouldn't say it is offroads, but you don't get smooth roads. Taken the vehicle in some really bad roads, it performed well.

Have got PPF done from Carzspa, Mysore road in Bangalore, they did a great job.

Overall, very happy with my purchase and glad it was a Tata Safari

Posting few pictures of my ride

2021 Tata Safari Review-20211119_143037.jpg

2021 Tata Safari Review-20211119_143013.jpg

and a video of during some water splash fun

Kireek is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 3rd January 2022, 20:37   #1607

Originally Posted by Kireek View Post
Impressed that water does not splash onto the windscreen. On the Storme, we get blinded by the splashing water when driving through a puddle at some speed
kochup is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd January 2022, 20:47   #1608

Originally Posted by Kireek View Post

Have got PPF done from Carzspa, Mysore road in Bangalore, they did a great job.
May I please know how much did it cost?
Old 3rd January 2022, 23:44   #1609

Originally Posted by Gaurav_7 View Post
May I please know how much did it cost?
I got the roof wrapped with Piano Black. Rest of it with Aegis PPF with 10 years warranty.
Aall glasses nano ceramic coating as a package for 1.2 Lakhs.

Last edited by aah78 : 4th January 2022 at 00:30. Reason: Grammar.
Kireek is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th January 2022, 17:13   #1610

Originally Posted by kochup View Post
Impressed that water does not splash onto the windscreen. On the Storme, we get blinded by the splashing water when driving through a puddle at some speed
Wanted to share my experience. At high speeds, i.e. anything over 60 KMPH speed the water splashes on the windscreen. I had difficulty initially and I am driving cautiously in those areas.

Last edited by aah78 : 4th January 2022 at 19:37. Reason: Dots removed. Grammar.
JoelDmello is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th January 2022, 21:27   #1611

Originally Posted by jubingoel View Post
A friend has bought the new Safari XZ+ Adventure Persona. He constantly complains about a beep that the car sounds randomly while driving. There is no notification in the MID or the Infotainment display and we have tried to narrow it down during different driving scenarios, but in vain. Does anyone know what it could be? It is a single loud beep that the car just sounds out of seemingly nowhere.
I own Safari Gold, after taking delivery , too it for 5600kms trip, bangalore-Agra-Jaisalmer-Bangalore . I happen to hear this single loud beep and was very much confused initially and later found that the beep is coming because of poor Air Quality inside cabin when AQI falls below certain level, this happens when you drive without AC and keeping just the Fan, when you roll down window. Whenever you hear this tone you will notice air quality 'poor' message flashing on the infotainment system. I will write my ownership and trip experience shortly.
mukeshannamalai is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 5th January 2022, 22:56   #1612

Originally Posted by parsh View Post
Couple of weeks back the Safari saw its first major outing to Mashobra from Noida and felt the snow.
Issues we faced :
Right now happily cru(i)sing on Noida-Lucknow ExpressWay... Bravo Tata
It has been an amazing drive on the Noida-Lucknow Expressway, not a touring but work trip, that also let it be tested on various aspects.

Especially exhilarating after the issues got sorted and no tantrums by the Safari of any sorts till now and behaving absolutely brilliantly on the Expressway all through the return drive.

1. Did I mention its a handsome looking Hunk and makes for stellar road presence. Whether True SUV or not, definitely commands a SUV look.

2021 Tata Safari Review-img_20211213_135300.jpg

2021 Tata Safari Review-img_20211213_135318.jpg

2021 Tata Safari Review-img_20211213_135513.jpg

2. Feels right at home in the mountains. We will see its SUV colors when we hit rougher mountain terrains.

2021 Tata Safari Review-img_20211213_121702mod.jpg

3. Straight line stability absolutely brilliant and decently controlled manners on the curves on the Expressway, gives adrenaline rush and puts a smile every time shifting those manual gears, overtaking and flooring the A pedal.

4. Only letdown was the hike to the Hatu peak during last trip to Mashobra.

5. No squeaks, rattles and any kind of tantrums so far after the initial hiccups.

6. AQI : Still no solution is sight, nor any idea on how to resolve. Lets see how it goes.

2021 Tata Safari Review-img_20211220_014119.jpg

7. Tata should sincerely pay attention to design, manufacturing and fitment aspects of the Gear Lever Console to have seen it come off the way it did. Hope the replacement stays lifelong now. Hope no other customers face the issue. Kindly get checked specifically at delivery time or even afterwards.

2021 Tata Safari Review-img_20211217_101530.jpg

2021 Tata Safari Review-img_20211217_101535.jpg

8. Fuel Efficiency greatly surprised with sedate longer continuous drive on the Expressway with speeds ranging between 60-80 kph.

2021 Tata Safari Review-img20220105wa0020.jpg

Other than that, the FE gave different variations with variations of speeds, within range of 10-22 kpl.

On Mumbai Pune Expressway with similar sedate drive, I manage to extract max 15-16 kpl out of the Innova Gen 1 Type I.

Safari also got ceramic body coat and underbody anti-rust treatment shortly after the delivery.

Looking forward to niggle-free ownership going forward.

Last edited by parsh : 5th January 2022 at 23:19. Reason: Minor updates
parsh is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 5th January 2022, 23:47   #1613

Safari also got ceramic body coat and underbody anti-rust treatment shortly after the delivery.
I went for a check when the ceramic coating was being done on mine and asked the 3M guy if this one needs underbody anti rust coating. He checked there and said Tata itself has done a similar coating as what 3M offers for underbody and isn't needed.
Old 6th January 2022, 00:01   #1614

6. AQI : Still no solution is sight, nor any idea on how to resolve. Lets see how it goes.
IMO, there isn't any issue with the system showing AQI greater than 300. Its all because of the poor air quality in external weather in NCR region.

I'm sure the reading will be healthy (i.e. lower AQI) if you drive down to cleaner city.
Old 6th January 2022, 16:05   #1615

2021 Tata Safari Review-img_20220106_152606371_hdr.jpg

It's home!
Gaurav_7 is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 6th January 2022, 17:40   #1616

Hi guys
Finished my 15000 km service and here’s the feedback. Owing to family emergency, I had to take the Safari on a 1500 Km trip and overshot the 15000 km service mark by an additional 1100 Kms. As soon as the car crossed the 15000 service mark, the oil level indicator started blinking. A sure fire way to get your attention, I guess. Total cost of the service was Rs.21353/- Attaching the service bill details below.
2021 Tata Safari Review-safariserviceinvoice.jpeg
2021 Tata Safari Review-safariserviceinvoice1.jpeg

As you can see the front brake pads are replaced. I think 16000 Kms is too short for the brake pads to give up their life. Attaching the pics. You decide. OEM is Rane and I think at Rs.7500 its pretty expensive if you consider that it lasts only 16000 Kms. Servicing cost not including wheel balancing and wheel alignment is Rs. 1.40 per km which is way too high.
2021 Tata Safari Review-brakepads.jpg
Sign inside TAFE service centre Office. Mr. Unnikrishnan is the GM for TATA service in Tamil Nadu. Love the fact that TATA is being more accessible and accountable to the customer.
2021 Tata Safari Review-tataboard.jpg

As I said earlier, TATA is definitely reigning in their dealer network and making their authorised service centres more transparent and accountable. Fingers crossed that the future turns our more pleasant surprises.
Neil Roy is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 6th January 2022, 18:33   #1617

Tata Safari 2021 White Gold that Glitters

Safari 2021 White Gold that Glitters

Last year Dec’2021, I sold my new Thar AT Diesel. Yes you are reading it right! I sold my Thar 2020 after 5K KMS, there were absolutely no problems in Thar but it's just not suitable for my liking so I ended up selling it. Mahindra engine is a GEM.

Booked XUV700 Petrol and Diesel AT L on the portal and with the dealer and also through online booking but got a shocking delivery date. i am not keen to wait that long for XUV. The only option i considered was New Tata Safari AT or pre-owned Endeavour 3.2

There were many pre-owned Ford Endeavours but back of my mind there was growing doubt about spares, service, etc hence I dropped the plan. There is no replacement for Endeavour, still dreaming about 3.2.

Visited the Tata showroom and took the test drive of New Safari AT, I always loved Manual transmission but due to heavy traffic in Bangalore I switched over to automatic many years ago, a lot has been said about Tata Safari in terms of size, space, etc, I liked the vehicle during the test drive, even the low-speed steering was not that heavy but later I realized they must have jacked up the tire pressure to give better steering feel on low speed.

I initially booked the top-end variant (XZA+) white color and the dealer said they can deliver the car in 3 weeks, I prefer white colour. Later when I checked about the Gold variant availability, the dealer checked and confirmed it can be delivered in one week, i went ahead and booked, processed the loan and paid everything in straight three days. got a call from sales exec that the car is in their stockyard and ready for PDI, checked everything and found few paint quality issues but otherwise, everything was looking good, took the delivery of car exactly after one week of booking.

The sales and delivery experience was not that exceptional, my sales and delivery experience was exceptional when i took Hyundai Venue, I just wondered why Tata is unable to provide that kind of delivery experience for 29Lac worth premium vehicle, even the delivery executive had no knowledge about Tata Safari, no proper washing done.

The next day after the delivery and customary pooja, started for a short trip from Bangalore to Chennai, never crossing 100 kms speed. i always wanted a car with better driving dynamics and good NVH, it's a mixed feeling for me after this drive.

Even before the delivery of the vehicle, i planned for a long road trip to Manali from Bangalore, referred to Team-bhp route queries for better routes and places to stay, etc, well after reaching Agra, we decided to skip Manali due to very cold weather and we decided to explore Rajasthan.

Coming back to how Safari Performed in this long 5800 KMS trip, we decided on the following route.
Bangalore - Hyd-Nagpur-Agra -Pushkar-Jaisalmer
Jaisalmer-Ahmedabad-Mumbai-Davanagere-Bangalore.

I booked 7 seaters with 3 middle row seats because the three-seater in the middle is very convenient for my family.

Luggage- Five of us on this trip and the last row seats were folded two weeks of luggage, I am sure the space is more than adequate after folding the last row seats to carry our luggage, so I would give 10 out of 10 for luggage (after folding last row seats).

Middle row Seat - The 2nd-row seat is very good for every passenger, the leg space, under-thigh support is good, no passengers complained wanting additional space to stretch their legs, the sliding middle row seat really helped us to gain additional leg space. the sliding seats really helps.

Front passenger seat- I would not say it's fantastic but adequate for a long journey, I would have liked a little bit wider and a bit more under thing support Seat, the footwell length is also adequate for long travel but a little bit wider and deep footwell would have given us premium footwell space however no front passenger complained of it, they are comfortable throughout the 5800kms journey, it's my personal feeling that I needed additional seat width and under-thigh support, I am 5'11, I would rate 8 out of 10.

Driver seat - it's definitely not uncomfortable but I would have liked a little bit more width and a bit more under-thigh support, also there are lot of comments about inadequate footwell, honestly, I would have liked a deeper footwell to keep the left foot but in my 5800kms of driving I never felt uncomfortable or tired leg, so I would rate 8 out of 10

Front Ventilated Seat - I was never a fan of the ventilated seats, but oh boy! I thoroughly enjoyed the ventilated seat, the moment you switch-on, it gives a cool effect on your back and trusts me, it gives you wonderful effect and makes you feel so good and takes away your tiredness little bit. I would rate 10 out of 10 for the ventilated seats. The ventilated seats are only at front driver and passenger, but if you have captain seats in the 2nd row, we get ventilated seat.

Steering - Under Parking speed i, steering is heavy definitely, not so happy about it. even the steering feel is not consistent across every speed, its like steering has multiple personality disorder, but i liked its sharpness and started liking it after driving it for few hundred KMS but Tata needs to fix low-speed heavy speed steering, i would rate 7 out of 10.

NVH - The NVH is good up to 100-110 kms, the moment you cross this limit you will hear engine noise, I would have liked a better NVH and silent cabin for the car worth 29Lacs. it's not noisy inside but i personally would have liked silent cabin. i would rate this 7 out of 10.

Brake - Brakes are good and throughout my 5800km never felt the need for more stopping power, i would rate 9 out of 10 because it’s not excellent though.

Tyres – During my trip to Chennai from Bangalore, the OEM stock tyres are not that great and noisy, after my return from Chennai, I changed it to Continental, this is the right decision made and the tyre noise reduced significantly along with the difference in handling. Went to Tyre empire HSR, did alignment but left pulling still persists, I don’t know if its fixable.

Ride Quality- It does not give plush/cushion ride quality but you won't get tossed around for sure, you will hear thud noise over rough roads, those continuous small speed breakers and suspension noise enters the cabin, it's not as silent as i expected. i would rate 8 out of 10.

Infotainment - No complaints about the sound and music, it's just perfect for me. The quality of JBL is not outstanding but it's great to listen however the infotainment screen is not suitable for Map viewing during day light, it’s just totally unusable during bright sunlight, it’s useless, I wonder how the car worth 29L (Bangalore) has such useless infotainment. On my long road trip 70% of the time I ended up using my mobile for Map. There is so much of glare on the screen, I tried using my polarized sunglass but no change in glare, wireless Android is still not stable, it has its own mind, it works sometimes and down sometimes. I rate 4 out of 10 for infotainment.

Driving Pleasure –Tata New Safari brought my smile back and pleasure on highway driving, the handling is sharp, engine has adequate power and enjoyed throughout my 5800 kms of road trip , i would rate 9 out of 10

Quality - This is one area where Tata needs to bring better people on board. Are they not getting the right people in this world for QC? e.g when I picked up my car, I noticed white paint on the door beadings, my Hyundai Venue worth half the price has better quality but Safari worth 25L+ has poor quality.

I would rate 5 out of 10. The dealer did not even fit the mud flap properly. Poor guys, they are so busy that they fit only one screw instead of 3.

DEF Oil - The dealer gave the new car only with half-filled DEF, after i reached Adilabad during my trip and gave them for the first service they charged me and filled up the DEF, it was filled when the car was at 1200K, now after 7K ODO, its 1/4th and getting Def warning light. so it looks like every 7K-8K the DEF needs to be filled up.

Speed Warning Beep - The speed warning beep is not an irritating one unlike my Hyundai Venue, it is manageable.

Headlight - Although i restricted my road trip to daytime driving, sometimes the drive went until 11 or 12 midnight, the headlight is good until 80-90 on highways, headlamp requires upgrade.

AC - Absolutely no complaints, the fan blower was not that noisy as well. overall it performed well.

Boot Door - it is definitely heavy and i am wondering who designed the latch, it is not easy to lift using that latch, they should provision auto boot open or a better latch to hold.

Overall I am happy with my purchase and do i miss anything? yes, a good Infotainment system for Map, Adaptive cruise control, better low-speed steering, better NVH but these are not deal-breaker for me in selecting Safari, after my long road trip i understood what Safari can offer and its nothing but a fantastic driving pleasure and that's what I want.

First Service – This is another story, on the way to Nagpur, stopped at Adilabad for first service, I later regretted why I gave the car there, I asked them to fix two things, 1. Wiper spray, 2. Left pulling, nothing was fixed, only the DEF oil got refilled, some nuts/bolts checked, it was becoming dark and I was in hurry so took the delivery after wash, they even made the seats dirty inside. I kept insisting to put a cover before they sit on the seats but they just ignored and made the seats dirty. I rate 0 out of 10 for this experience.

Pictures of Conti tyre, random pictures from my Bangalore-Jaisalmer road trip.

2021 Tata Safari Review-20211217_180424.jpg

2021 Tata Safari Review-20211217_180429.jpg

2021 Tata Safari Review-20211222_131049.jpg

2021 Tata Safari Review-20211223_170527.jpg

2021 Tata Safari Review-20211224_105943.jpg

2021 Tata Safari Review-20211224_110120.jpg

2021 Tata Safari Review-20211225_080448.jpg

2021 Tata Safari Review-20211228_191408.jpg

-MUKESH

Last edited by Aditya : 9th January 2022 at 12:05. Reason: Punctuation errors
mukeshannamalai is offline   (72) Thanks
Old 6th January 2022, 18:48   #1618

Originally Posted by Neil Roy View Post
As you can see the front brake pads are replaced. I think 16000 Kms is too short for the brake pads to give up their life. Attaching the pics. You decide. OEM is Rane and I think at Rs.7500 its pretty expensive if you consider that it lasts only 16000 Kms. Servicing cost not including wheel balancing and wheel alignment is Rs. 1.40 per km which is way too high.

Love the fact that TATA is being more accessible and accountable to the customer.
Automatic? Then its probably alright for the brake pads to wear out this early, being a bit gentle on the pedals would help. But the cost of pad set is high, perhaps due to the double piston design of the caliper. Does this have a wear sensor wire attached?

Most of the ASCs will have an escalation chart attached somewhere near the customer lounge or billing counter. It is a requirement by OEM.

Regarding maintenance costs, I see fuel and Air filter changed already, a bit early perhaps. The engine oil cost is high, you can opt for 'normal' engine oil next time if available. Tata`s GDO price I saw earlier was very affordable, I think less than half what they have billed you.

In general a Tata would be more maintenance intensive than others in its segment.
Kosfactor is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 6th January 2022, 19:01   #1619

Worn out brake pads at 16,000 km is way too low. My lowly Zest had brake pads replaced at 1,10,000 kms. Though that might not be a reasonable comparison, its still too low.

I had a Bolero Camper which necessitated pad change at around every 80,000 km. GVW of it was 2750 kgs.
simplyself is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 7th January 2022, 09:38   #1620

How much did the tyre change cost you? I was also contemplating changing the tyres to Yokohama or Conti on my Harrier Dark Edition (18' wheels- Same spec as safari). Did they buy back your old tyres ?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com