2,431,979 views Search this Thread
Old 28th August 2021, 04:11   #316

Re: Volkswagen Taigun Review

I feel the volume projection of 5000 to 6000 units a month is only possible to achieve with a very aggressive pricing. I have said all along that VW will position the Taigun, for the 1.0 variants, lower in price than the Skoda Kushaq. This is because it is a big brand, has many more touch points than Skoda from a sales and.srvice perspective and needs to achieve a higher volume for the entire network to be profitable. Also with the launch of XUV 700 fuels further incentive for VW to price the Taigun even more aggressively than it originally planned, since this is the only shot VW has to break into the volume league and they cannot let a timing issue of a competitor launch spoil the show. I am looking forward to late September and I hope the Taigun lands with some shock pricing, especially for the base 1.0 and GT manual variants.
84.monsoon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th August 2021, 10:12   #317

Mod Note : Please do NOT post messages that add little or no informational value to the thread. We need your co-operation to maintain the quality of this forum.

We advise you to read the Forum Rules before proceeding any further. Request to post ONLY when you have something substantial to add to a discussion.

Last edited by GTO : 30th August 2021 at 07:37. Reason: 1
Lion hearted is offline   Received Infraction
Old 28th August 2021, 12:06   #318

Originally Posted by NT56 View Post
Ashish Gupta expects sales of 5000-6000 a month for Taigun. Most members (including me) on this forum would think that would be overoptimistic.]
Definitely over optimistic. After initial few months, Sales would probably settle around 1000-1500 if things go well i.e. ASS , word of mouth etc. Petrol we are going to have Astor and diesel there are Koreans. Volkswagen value proposition is simply no match for these two.
Pras92003 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th August 2021, 16:12   #319

Three major deal breakers for me would be -

1. If wife hates it when the vehicles arrive in showrooms. (The cabin experience doesn't make you feel wow for the price, its just about 'ok' and will be the biggest issue from a family perspective).
2. If the Astor delivers on a driving experience anywhere close to the 1.5 DSG.
3. If VW doesn't learn their lesson and asks for a much higher premium than even the Kushaq. Compass Sport MT is also not too far away, and I can live with less features for a much better quality experience.
4. If the Taigun still comes on top as a product, but gets the price wrong - may also make sense to wait for the discounts.
And now there is an unexpected 5th point, which has gone up to #1 for now -

5. Skoda Kushaq breakdowns and concerns over a freshly baked VAG product! There are atleast half a dozen Kushaq owners having reported breakdowns (see Kushaq review thread or visit Skoda Kushaq club page on FB), EPC warning and power loss issues within just 2000 kms of delivery. Preparing for the gearbox to breakdown a few times in 10 years is one thing, expecting niggles on a brand new car is another - but going in with a mindset to expect the new vehicle to break down within the first month is quite something else.

Guess that's the most fundamental expectation when someone purchases a new car? To run without getting stranded on the road. Already was a big leap of faith with friends and family advising against the gearbox! Zac says this is normal, they are working to get the cars back on the road and the number of breakdowns are less than expected for a new launch. Strangely - this is despite high pricing and less features in the name of superior Euro quality! And VW doesn't have a Zac Hollis for owners to reach out.

Is this the end of the Taigun for me? Not sure. But not sure of taking the initial batch either! Will anyways take the wife to see the car when it arrives in showrooms and if it doesnt make her fall head over heels in love (and me with the price) - will re-asses the purchase for Jan-Feb. Hope VW learns from Skoda before then - may be they have already learned and will correct before launch. Not sure if I want to find out the hard way! Thankfully not in a hurry due to the WFH situation going on.

PS: Even Compass facelift might have some good year-end offers by then.

Originally Posted by NT56 View Post
Ashish Gupta expects sales of 5000-6000 a month for Taigun. Most members (including me) on this forum would think that would be overoptimistic.
Good. With such high volumes - they won't miss one!
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 28th August 2021, 20:02   #320

Originally Posted by Meph1st0 View Post
..... The current claim is that the bugs are resolved and India is a much smaller market.
Skoda Kushaq warranty can be extended up to 6 years but 8-year DSG specific warranty even if chargeable will be ideal.
Agree. In the unpleasant event that VW India does not bother offering us peace with the DSG guarantee... Wondering - how the Comprehensive insurance coverage would help.
Old 29th August 2021, 12:05   #321

VW Claims 6,500 bookings for new launch

https://www.thehindubusinessline.com...57415.ece/amp/
Old 31st August 2021, 09:34   #322

Some random photos from the pre-launch event held in Chennai on 28th & 29th August. While representatives from VAG were either tight-lipped or not forthcoming, ASCs seemed enthusiastic! I was informed that the test drive may be available in 10 days, official launch on 23rd September, and delivery from 1st week of October! Expected prices in the range of Rs.12 lacs to 23 lacs!

Volkswagen Taigun Review-20210829_105930.jpg

Volkswagen Taigun Review-20210829_110440.jpg

Volkswagen Taigun Review-20210829_110934.jpg

Volkswagen Taigun Review-20210829_111349.jpg

Volkswagen Taigun Review-20210829_110126.jpg

Volkswagen Taigun Review-20210829_110327.jpg

Volkswagen Taigun Review-20210829_110842.jpg
Gokrish is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st August 2021, 12:16   #323

I own a 2011 1.2 Petrol Ritz, wife and I, both of us love our car and have wonderful driving memories). Just one issue with engine noise in the 6th year, where I got the bearings changed, suspensions changed, tyres replaced last year and battery twice till now.

Not once has the car stalled, or wipers stopped working or windows stopped unrolling. Even today the doors are calm @120kph, every door shuts properly, the petrol tank lid is well aligned, average is still good, it has underbody cover and prevented any damage while on terrible roads. Every service experience was a delight, without burning any hole in the pocket. The car has become old, I have been looking to replace it for the last 1.5 years, and I am a desperate buyer right now and was looking forward to Skoda Kushaq.

Skoda 1.5DSG 2 airbags meant, I had to wait for Taigun. And now I feel better that Taigun launch is delayed enough for people to learn and observe Kushaq's ownership experiences.

I have pre-booked Taigun GT-DSG (I am fine underwriting DSG risk, but EPS stopping, poor build quality, lids not closing properly, seats shaking, no underbody protection is not done). After the seamless Maruti experience in the last decade, feels like I will be purchasing trouble by paying 21 lakhs+. :(
vinitbarve is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st August 2021, 12:21   #324

Originally Posted by Gokrish View Post
Expected prices in the range of Rs.12 lacs to 23 lacs!
If this is true, I seriously need to understand what stuff VW guys are smoking!
It certainly should help in tougher days.

I mean 23L is straight into the TROC territory(25L in Pune before the discounts). Come on VW try to show some sense while pricing the Taigun, don't make a bigger mockery of yourself than what Skoda has done with Kushaq!
07CR is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 31st August 2021, 14:30   #325

Originally Posted by 07CR View Post
I mean 23L is straight into the TROC territory(25L in Pune before the discounts). Come on VW try to show some sense while pricing the Taigun, don't make a bigger mockery of yourself than what Skoda has done with Kushaq!
In Chennai, Kun VW seem to have only 1 T-Roc unit available (in white) and no discounts from the on road price of ₹ 26.73L - in fact, they claim never to have had discounts.

On the Taigun, they are confident the 1.5 GT DSG will at best be ₹ 22L on road or thereabouts, which by itself is quite expensive I feel. Notwithstanding feeling unconvinced on the value proposition and having to wait until Sep 23 for variants/ pricing, went ahead and pre-booked one!
shekar.ca is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st August 2021, 15:10   #326

Originally Posted by 07CR View Post
I mean 23L is straight into the TROC territory(25L in Pune before the discounts).
T-Roc is 27.7 lakhs on road in Pune and there are no discounts on offer
Got the above quote just 2 weeks back
Old 31st August 2021, 15:30   #327

Originally Posted by shekar.ca View Post
In Chennai, Kun VW seem to have only 1 T-Roc unit available (in white) and no discounts from the on road price of ₹ 26.73L - in fact, they claim never to have had discounts.
Seems Chennai taxes are a bit too high?

Originally Posted by crazyro View Post
T-Roc is 27.7 lakhs on road in Pune and there are no discounts on offer
Got the above quote just 2 weeks back
I got my price from Cardekho website as shown below. I am not sure if this includes the Extended warranty prices, so maybe that could be the difference?
Volkswagen Taigun Review-troc.jpg  

Old 31st August 2021, 16:21   #328

Any idea what the fuel tank capacity is for the Taigun? I haven't been able to find anything regarding it nor do I think its been mentioned in any reviews unless I missed it. It would be interesting to see what range this car could potentially have.
Old 31st August 2021, 17:45   #329

Originally Posted by NevGin View Post
Any idea what the fuel tank capacity is for the Taigun? I haven't been able to find anything regarding it nor do I think its been mentioned in any reviews unless I missed it. It would be interesting to see what range this car could potentially have.
Kushaq all models it is 50L. Reasonable to assume Taigun will have the same capacity. VW havent yet released any specs/ full brochure for Taigun.
vinitbarve is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st August 2021, 20:51   #330

Is this the end of the Taigun for me? Not sure. But not sure of taking the initial batch either! Will anyways take the wife to see the car when it arrives in showrooms and if it doesnt make her fall head over heels in love (and me with the price) - will re-asses the purchase for Jan-Feb.
With another half a dozen cars (Kushaq thread has details) reporting breakdowns over the weekend - some for a second time even, I went ahead and dropped the cancellation e-mail today.

No point waiting for the launch, as I'm now 100% sure I won't be spending my hard-earned money on this car for at least another six months - no matter how good (or bad) they price it.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (7) Thanks