Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 3rd October 2013, 12:34   #1426

re: A thread on Accommodation & Rates

This needs a special mention on this forum.In my hotel stays around the country for the last 10years,this is the 1st incident that I have come across where a hotel has actually refunded the entire money spent in the hotel as a goodwill gesture.

A brief background:We stayed at Keys,Whitefield during our recent drive from Thrissur to Hyd.As luck would have it,there were a lot of goofups resulting in the hotel aircon not working in the room we were checked into,and service also was iffy.I pointed this out promptly using the hotel feedback mechanism and via a review on Tripadvisor.

I was promptly contacted by the Chief Operating Officer himself of the Berggruen Hotels which operates the Keys brand and was assured corrective action and he was regretful of the incidents.What came as a pleasant and welcome surprise though was the prompt arrival of a cheque today morning refunding the entire 2night hotel stay amount.I think finally the Indian hotel scenario is changing for the good and the better.

What was impressive is that there is acceptance on the hotel side that things can go wrong-nobody can prevent that,but what is more than appreciative is the immediate initiation of corrective procedures by the hotel management

Impressed with Keys management.if this is the way they go,I am sure they would go places.
ranjitp1 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd October 2013, 12:55   #1427

Originally Posted by ranjitp1 View Post
I think finally the Indian hotel scenario is changing for the good and the better.
This is indeed a very good sign Ranjit,Kudos to the management of Keys for being apologetic and for the nice gesture.

I have not come across something like this in my last 16 years of extensive travel across India.

Waseem.
Old 3rd October 2013, 13:03   #1428

Originally Posted by richie4u View Post
hey guys could anyone of you suggest me a good hotel to stay in Bangalore,place should be around/near to yeshwantpur station/tumkur road 2-3 kms radius is fine but should be easy accessible and not inside narrow roads.
Originally Posted by Drivethru View Post
Naveen regency at tumkur on NH4 is good.
richie4u is looking for a place to stay in Bangalore.

What is your bugdet richie4u.?

Waseem.
Old 3rd October 2013, 13:51   #1429

planning a trip this sunday to Hyd-coorg-kukke-mangalore-udipi-kollur-jog falls - hyd .

Request suggestion for accomadation at Kukke , M'lore / udipi , Kollur and finally at jog falls .
Old 3rd October 2013, 14:07   #1430

Originally Posted by rm_arjuna View Post
planning a trip this sunday to Hyd-coorg-kukke-mangalore-udipi-kollur-jog falls - hyd .

Request suggestion for accomadation at Kukke , M'lore / udipi , Kollur and finally at jog falls .
Wats your budget.? I can immediately help you with M'lore / udupi and Shimoga.

Waseem.
Old 3rd October 2013, 14:51   #1431

Originally Posted by SILVERWOOD View Post
Wats your budget.? I can immediately help you with M'lore / udupi and Shimoga.

Waseem.
Rs.1500 - 2000 , we are 2 families travelling together with 3 kids aged 7-10
Old 3rd October 2013, 15:00   #1432

Place: Kolhapur,Maharastra
Hotel: Hotel Vishwa
Address: 563,E,Shahupuri,1st lane,(Near Post office),Kolhapur-416001
Contact numbers - 0231-6616477
Rates: INR 1700/- AC Double room
Location: Near Vaman Guest house(Best Fish restaurant in kolhapur)
Review: Excellent service, Good spacious rooms, Rs 30 auto fare to Mahalakshmitemple ,Good restaurant attached.
Old 3rd October 2013, 15:05   #1433

Originally Posted by rm_arjuna View Post
Rs.1500 - 2000 , we are 2 families travelling together with 3 kids aged 7-10
Hotel Vasanth Mahal, Mangalore, opp city center mall.Decent rooms with good service, but please book the rooms which are not facing the road if you need sound sleep.

Jog Falls:Hotel Mayura, Gerusoppa (Run by KSTDC).
Book the new block called sharavati which is equivalent of a 2 star property.
The restaurant here sucks big time, you may have to travel to sagar (35kms) for a decent meal.

Waseem.
SILVERWOOD is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th October 2013, 00:11   #1434

Re: A nite in Mysore and another in Kollur.

A friend is looking for accommodation for his extended family(7 adults + 3 kids) in Mysore for Nov. 3rd nite and in Kollur on Nov. 4th nite. He just needs budget accommodation for sleep and getting fresh.

Please suggest accommodation options, accordingly.
Old 8th October 2013, 13:41   #1435

Budget accomodation in Chidambaram & Pondy

Hi all, could you kindly guide me to some nice budget hotels in Chidambaram and Pondy? I would be travelling with my parents, sister and BIL.

In Chidambaram, preferably close to the temple (I guess the town itself is quite small)
In Pondy, not too far away from the town.

Budget - Budget 1 - 1.5k each, for 2 rooms. Or 2.5k for a room that can accommodate 5 people.

Thanks in advance!!
Old 8th October 2013, 14:08   #1436

Hi all, I need recommendation on accomodation in or around Dive Agar (similar distance from Pune) for a couple of days in November.

Must haves:
- Cleanliness (bare minimum clean beds & toilet, no dilapidated stuff)
- Safety (family friendly, not overrrun by drunkards)
- Proximity to beach preferred

Other amenities such as own property with kid friendly facilities would be welcome.
Any pointers?

Last edited by selfdrive : 8th October 2013 at 14:10.
Old 8th October 2013, 14:55   #1437

Bandipur Tiger Reserve Forest Guest houses can be booked online at http://bandipurtigerreserve.in/ .. And it is dirt cheap compared with the private options and can be the best located one..
Old 8th October 2013, 18:26   #1438

Originally Posted by selfdrive View Post
Must haves:
- Cleanliness (bare minimum clean beds & toilet, no dilapidated stuff)
- Safety (family friendly, not overrrun by drunkards)
- Proximity to beach preferred

Other amenities such as own property with kid friendly facilities would be welcome.
Any pointers?
You may like to consider following thread. It was an extremely clean home stay with strict veg food and no drinking / smoking / loud music allowed.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travel...rivardhan.html

Beach is about 10-15 mins walk. The wadi (garden) in the backyard is good, but there are no other kid playing facilities. You can find the photos of the surrounding in above t'logue.
mayuresh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th October 2013, 12:00   #1439

Any suggestions on a good hotel for 3 nights stay at Chamarajnagar town? with good parking facility? Nijaguna Residency which is highly recommended is slightly above budget for the people who would be going there. Thanks in advance
Old 10th October 2013, 09:07   #1440

Guys, any recommendations for decent hotels/lodges in Madikeri? Will be staying for 2 nights and decently spacious and clean rooms are a must. Wont mind shelling upto 2000 per night for a double bed room