Old 29th November 2022, 22:27   #5986

Re: The Credit Card Thread

Originally Posted by Pancham View Post
I think its already devalued. I dont see 45x etc. benefits mentioned in the website.
Nope, not at all. It is there. You just have to look at their partner page on Grabdeals. They also run point multiplier offer from time to time on Amazon with 10x,15x or even 20x points above and beyond the bonus points mentioned.

Originally Posted by Pancham View Post
Comparing this with the Vistara, (I explored both the cards a bit) now it is clear why they are giving 25K points for 1L spends. For the Vistara Infinite card, you have to spend INR 1.66L to earn 5000 CV points which is equivalent to one Domestic ticket. In case of Magnus, (WITHOUT the 25k points option on 1L spend) you have to spend INR 4.16L to earn the same amount of CV points. Naturally, this has been introduced to bring both the cards at similar levels. So now you spend 1L to earn 25K points which is equivalent to 5K CV point. This is still 0.66L lesser than Vistara Infinite BUT you miss out on the Vistara gold membership.
The calculation is a bit off. On Vistara Infinite, on 1 lakh spends you get 3000 CV points. On Magnus, on 1 Lakh spend you get 6000 traveledge points (not taking accelerate rewards as they are capped at 10k per month). You also get 25000 bonus traveledge points for 1 lakhs spends in a calendar month. This means you get atleast 31000 traveledge points on 1 lakh spends if you do not take accelerated rewards. The conversion ration of Traveledge to Vistara points for Magnus/Reserver/Burgundy is 5:4 which means 31000 traveledge points get you 24800 CV points. To get the same points on Vistara Infinite you will have to spend 8.27 lakhs. So on same spend, the points on Magnus are 8.2x of that on Vistara. Granted you miss out on CV Gold and Business Class tickets. But still way more valuable than Vistara Infinite.

To top it all off, if you book flight tickets through Traveledge, you get 5x points uncapped.

I personally have chosen both as Magnus is much much superior to Vistara Infinite but Vistara Infinite gets you business class ticket and CV Gold which is worth the 12.8k charge you pay for it. Vistara Infinite lets you enjoy the CV points you get from Magnus even more.

Magnus is right now hands down the best credit card that returns the most points back if you travel. Nothing comes even close to it.

Last edited by anti21 : 29th November 2022 at 22:30.
anti21 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 30th November 2022, 09:00   #5987

Yep we have been using Magnus for a while now and find it very beneficial. Since we travel a lot, the unlimited international lounge access with the priority pass and concierge services very well makes it convenient. The tata cliq vouchers also sort of pays back the joining fee.
vjbox is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th November 2022, 09:55   #5988

Originally Posted by anti21 View Post
I personally have chosen both as Magnus is much much superior to Vistara Infinite but Vistara Infinite gets you business class ticket and CV Gold which is worth the 12.8k charge you pay for it. Vistara Infinite lets you enjoy the CV points you get from Magnus even more.

Magnus is right now hands down the best credit card that returns the most points back if you travel. Nothing comes even close to it.
I get a lot of flak for this always but Vistara Infinite is too over-rated. People going crazy for a domestic business class experience when you could earn much more miles using other cards in that same amount of spends and travel business class on International Sectors.

If someone needs a Vistara Gold Status for their regular travel, just hold on to Vistara Infinite and use other cards for regular spends. The annual fee is compensated by CV Gold, 1 Business Class Ticket & other upgrade vouchers. Dont need to spend anything on it to recover fees.
tejas08 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 30th November 2022, 10:34   #5989

Been using Infinia for almost 4 years, no complaints. Unlimited lounge access at International airports via Priority Pass is what is keeping me hooked on.
Additionally converting the points to SQ miles is another bonus.
Old_Salt is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th November 2022, 11:31   #5990

Originally Posted by adimicra View Post
Which credit cards have good offers on Bookmyshow like buy 1 get 1, without silly price caps?
I earlier had the Citibank World debit card, which had this offer, but my relationship with Citibank has ended. So, looking for some credit cards with similar offer, as I am used to that and don't feel like paying the full amount on Bookmyshow
You can check out ICICI Credit cards they have couple of variants that offers you tickets for free monthly twice but unfortunately the price is caped @ 500/ticket.
Old 30th November 2022, 11:38   #5991

I have been using Citi Bank Indian Oil Credit card as my one and only credit card for over 10+ years now. I chose Citi IOCL card as I could redeem the points for fuel in selected IOCL outlet and I felt its always better deal for me also had 2 of IOCL outlets around my apartment where they accept points.

Now that Citi is on the verge of exit from India (by mid of 2023), they gave me an option to port relationship with Axis. Axis bank has IOCL branded cards but it doesn't offer the same offer as Citi.

In mean time I have got ICICI Sapphiro and ICICI Amazon cards as back up.

Anyone know if any other cards gives same offer as Citi Bank IOCL Card?
Old 30th November 2022, 12:39   #5992

Originally Posted by tejas08 View Post
Finally, I see some chatter towards Axis cards. Tried talking about it around 3 Months back when Axis added some Airmiles partners on their top-end cards. The card that's on every CC Enthusiast's list is Axis Magnus. Magnus has dislodged the mighty Infinia from the top spot after a few years of dominance.
Originally Posted by anti21 View Post
Yeah, even I've been trying to say that. Axis has nailed it with Magnus and Vistara Infinite. Two cards that are must have if you travel even twice a year (and have Vistara connectivity).
That's very interesting! Which of these 2 cards would you recommend for someone like me, who flies internationally at least twice a year, and domestically the same, almost exclusively with Vistara. I would anyday trade priority check-in without wait over lounge access, if that makes any difference! Also, never traveled Business Class ever The usual shopping spending etc. is there as well. Currently using an HDFC Regalia, and Citi Rewards before that, which is now dead.

Last edited by RiderZone : 30th November 2022 at 12:45.
RiderZone is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th November 2022, 13:00   #5993

Does anyone have any idea how will existing Citi cards be mapped to Axis? I have a Citi Premier Miles card for example.
fhdowntheline is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th November 2022, 14:41   #5994

Originally Posted by RiderZone View Post
That's very interesting! Which of these 2 cards would you recommend for someone like me, who flies internationally at least twice a year, and domestically the same, almost exclusively with Vistara. I would anyday trade priority check-in without wait over lounge access, if that makes any difference! Also, never traveled Business Class ever The usual shopping spending etc. is there as well. Currently using an HDFC Regalia, and Citi Rewards before that, which is now dead.

If it is best value for money, you are looking for, it is hands down Magnus. With 1 lakh spend within a calendar month, you will be getting roughly 25000 points which is worth between 3-5 domestic Vistara economy class tickets. You will also get VIP Services across major domestic airports which would take care of everything. International unlimited lounge access along with 8 additional guests is also amazing. The card is also metallic, and you will get enquiries about it (if you like that sort of attention).

However, if you don't see being able to spend 1 lakh in a calendar month 2-3 times in a year, then you need to consider if you will be spending on Axis Partners on Grabdeals page. Like if you buy from Marks and Spencers you get 45x points. So, you can easily get 5000-8000 worth of CV points with about 10000 spend per month.

If you aren't able to spend 1 lakh per month 2-3 times a year and won't be able to use the card at Magnus Partners, then it doesn't make sense.

Since you want to priorities not waiting in queue, Vistara would get you CV Gold which would get you business class desks where wait would be less. But you lose out on the 8 VIP services who can also sometimes get you business class/priority check-in desks (depending on airline's discretion, so not guaranteed to work 100% time).

As mentioned, better to take them both. Vistara Infinite for 12.8k for Vistara Gold and 1 domestic business class ticket. You don't need to purchase anything via this card, keep it just for the benefits. And Magnus for the rewards so that you can use the points on Vistara (and soon Air India).

Also note, the points are transferable to Qantas, ITC, Marriott, United Airlines and many other partners mentioned on Traveledge. You are not limited to Vistara (although it seems to be offering best bang per buck).
anti21 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th November 2022, 14:59   #5995

Finally, I see some chatter towards Axis cards. Tried talking about it around 3 Months back when Axis added some Airmiles partners on their top-end cards. The card that's on every CC Enthusiast's list is Axis Magnus. Magnus has dislodged the mighty Infinia from the top spot after a few years of dominance.
I found Infinia as complete package. Interesting to hear about something above Infinia. I too want to check on Magnus.

These reward points can be used only for the travel or any gift vouchers also? Is Airport transfer available for Magnus also?

Last edited by libranof1987 : 30th November 2022 at 18:18. Reason: Trimming quoted post. Kindly quote only relevant sections of the post.
Old 30th November 2022, 22:31   #5996

Went through the Axis Magnus page after few posts on this thread. Doesn’t seem to be significant improvement for people who already have a Diners Black or Infinia.

Example
- Spending 1 lac per month gets you 31k reward points on Magnus which is equivalent to Rs 6k
- Spending same amount on a Diners Black or Infinia gives you 3.3k reward points which is equivalent to Rs 3.3k.
- This translates to a difference of Rs 3k per month for every lac spent

Considering the annual fees of 10k + taxes for Magnus, it will take atleast 4 months to recover this annual fees. Sounds like a loss making deal unless you are very confident of spending 1 lac + expenses for minimum four months a year.

What am I missing?

PS: The calculations change if you surrender your Diners Black/Infinia and have Magnus as the only premium paid card in your kitty.

Last edited by warrioraks : 30th November 2022 at 22:37.
warrioraks is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th November 2022, 22:57   #5997

Its been three months since I took the plunge into Magnus which is also when Infinia become my secondary card. 2 Months later even added Axis Reserve to the wallet after closing down the Platinum Charge Card. So its been a huge shake in the wallet with regards to the Credit Cards I carry. And I have to admit, its a great shake up.

If you are somebody who spends more than a Lac at least in 4-5 months in a year and you love travelling, Magnus is your card to go to. Gives a whopping 24,800 Airmiles per month on normal spends. Can go much higher with the use of reward multiplier.

To give a perspective - One Economy ticket to anywhere in South-East Asia every month or one business class ticket every two months.

But I am going to talk about some of the show-off features of these two cards which I used on my recent visit to New Delhi:

Complimentary Luxury Airport Transfers (Courtesy - Axis Reserve)

- Home to Mumbai Airport - BMW 520d
- Delhi Airport to Hotel - S Class 350d
- Mumbai Airport to Home - BMW 730ld

Used the Meet & Greet Feature at Mumbai Airport. Was asked to get down at Gate 1. A Porter came to escort me through the VIP Gate and then through Business Class Security check (All this while with a Premium Economy Domestic ticket). An Airport buggy was kept available at all points to move from one point to another. It felt extremely funny that I would sit in a buggy for like 150-200 meters.

Even at the lounge when I stood in the queue to get in, the porter asked me if my card had 'Tap to Pay' enabled. Was asked to give the card and boarding pas, she went ahead of the queue swiped on the machine and asked me to go in the lounge without any waiting time. Later, a buggy waiting again to take me from Lounge to Boarding gate.

Depends on how you look at it, but I find the experience borderline embarrassing.
Heavy traveller and spender (company spending) here, THE BEST card, hands down for mileage and redemption is Axis Vistara Infinite.

Benefits are,

1) one free business class ticket (domestic)

2) straight upgrade to Gold tier

3) best spend to miles ratio.

In one year, I have taken 32 vistara flights so far, average monthly spend is around 50-75k. I have now 40k airmiles. A return flight from Maa to Bom on miles is 9k points on economy.

Aside from this you get the usual, unlimited lounge access (you get the business class lounge and not the regular lounges in Del, Bom and Blr.... The regular lounges are so crowded that it's not even worth spending time in it), porter service (both on amex platinum and this card never once used it, maybe I should) etc etc.

If you travel, and use / redeem airmiles this is THE card for you right now in India.
Stribog is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 30th November 2022, 23:02   #5998

Originally Posted by condor View Post
Looks like the only way to save on that 2.5% extra on fuel purchases is to stop using credit cards for this, unless we study which bunk has a PoS machine of the card issuing bank one uses.
One card offers a full refund of the surcharge for fuel at ANY petrol pump and you also get to earn points for the transactions.

I’ve been using this for a few months and it’s my go to card for fuel transactions.
Old 30th November 2022, 23:03   #5999

Originally Posted by RiderZone View Post
Honestly for 2 Dom and 2 intnl flights, the ROI on an infinite card from axis vistara won't be there.

I had / have the Reagalia, Magnus and a Vistara infite, I have stopped using the first two and will be closing my Magnus even.

As a frequent flier (40+ domestic flights a year + 5-6 intnl), the miles alone on this are sufficient.

I earn so many miles on my corporate travel that I right now have the equivalent of 4 free return tickets on the Bom Maa routing, this after redeeming 2 earlier last month and in Sept.

Only challenge is these free tickets on miles are limited so you have to book at least a month in advance.
Stribog is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 30th November 2022, 23:12   #6000

From whatever I read online, the real value of Magnus reward points is to convert into air miles and use it for international business class or first class award seats. I believe it needs interest and understanding of the air miles and redemption game. Else no amount of statement credit, vouchers or domestic travel is going to make it unique compared to other cards.

I believe Magnus existed for quite sometime unattractive but they have made it sweet only recently with the number of airline transfer partners and the ratio of transfer unbelievable. Next best I believe is international hotel chains booking outside India.