Old 25th June 2018, 14:33   #15811

Re: Rants on Bangalore's traffic situation

Originally Posted by Wheeliej View Post
was stuck in the same jam last sunday night; took more than 3 hours to finally reach home (close to yeshwantpur) from Nelamangala. I think it is criminal that one person is allowed to hold up traffic like that disregarding almost 1 lac people in at least 20k vehicles; toll operator would have lost crores in revenues from 7 p.m until almost midnight. why cant the govt give these entitled jokers a helicopter of their own so that common tax paying citizens are not disturbed.
This should have been made a NEWS. surprised none of TV channels/newspaper were interested to cover. I thought the jam was due to Metro work/accident. Never in my life, have seen such a long jam in Tumkur road!
Old 25th June 2018, 19:34   #15812

Originally Posted by paragsachania View Post
EXTREME IMPATIENCE AND DISCOURTESY:
It is indeed a very sad state of affairs and Its certainly appalling mainly because our kids are witnessing all this, either sitting next to you being driven to school or silently from inside the bus while their driver keeps breaking every rule; The same kids later will take an office bus to reach their workplace and will remain silent when their bus driver does the same too!

Some of the posts recommend dropping the kids at an earlier time. And one post recommends using school bus. I would like to warn against both these suggestions esp if your kids are small.
Dropping kids at an earlier time is dangerous. Kids without teacher supervision is a no no. Dropping 10 mins early is ok but I shudder to think of the girl who's dropped 30 mins early when only the watchman is in. Remember safety of the children is foremost. I always drop my kids between 0800-0805, the first bell is at 0810. I run the risk of being late sometimes if there is a breakdown or accident. The rare occasion that I've reached at 0745 or before, I keep my kids in the car till there is more activity usually by 0800.
Since the school is close to my workplace, I've seen the behavior of the bus drivers even before I put my kids to school. They are usually sitting in a tea shop drinking at 1100. They are rowdy elements and especially foul mouthed - Always talking about other's mothers and elder sisters and even grandmothers. (My kids went to school for a year when I was in Chennai by school van, but the drivers were courteous fellows and behaved well). The way these vans are driven is well described by you. And most importantly most schools have outsourced transportation, so their responsibility ends at the school gate.
Hence unfortunately there is no option but to endure rush hour and drop kids. Maybe once they have grown up a bit...

Last edited by wildsdi5530 : 25th June 2018 at 19:35. Reason: smily in wrong place
wildsdi5530 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 25th June 2018, 19:46   #15813

Originally Posted by wildsdi5530 View Post
Dropping 10 mins early is ok but I shudder to think of the girl who's dropped 30 mins early when only the watchman is in.
Simple as that and this is something most of us parents are aware of.

The school says kids needs to dropped by 0755. Exactly then I see buses entering the campus along with few cars. Most of the other including me drop around 0745 and at this time, there are teachers and caretakers. It is not that we are advising to drop kids so early that there is no one in school.

Even at 0745, there is at least 20% of kids who belong to parent pick-up along with school staff. I guess this is well understood and the whole point of the post was to say how leaving only 5 minutes early can save you from being a bad and an angry driver behind the wheels that your own kid and others would watch you.
Old 26th June 2018, 11:41   #15814

Originally Posted by wildsdi5530 View Post
Kids without teacher supervision is a no no.
Very true. But I thought these days there was always a teacher accompanying the children in buses? At least those buses I see departing from around my area always have a female teacher in the bus with the younger children.

For the exorbitant amount the schools charge for their transport these days, I would hope they would at least take care of child safety. I guess it varies between schools.
Old 27th June 2018, 13:33   #15815

On a positive note, its good to see the progress of metro works between KR Pura and Whitefield. Though they have made a mess of the place with dust, excavations and what not, I am happy to see that the segment launching is being done at a very fast pace. To top it all, they are removing barricades under the segments whose launching is complete and the road is becoming wide at certain places. Hopefully they should complete most of the launching works and free up the roads within the next three months or so. Only stations will still be under construction.

The other side to this story is that they have not touched the stretch between BYPL Metro station and Tin Factory junction. Without this, there wont be much use of finishing the other parts quickly. Hope they start work soon behind RMZ Infinity.
audioholic is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 1st July 2018, 11:39   #15816

Loved this Tweet

Rants on Bangalore's traffic situation-screenshot_20180701113226.png

Last edited by Rajeevraj : 1st July 2018 at 11:41.
Rajeevraj is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 1st July 2018, 16:40   #15817

Originally Posted by audioholic View Post
On a positive note, its good to see the progress of metro works between KR Pura and Whitefield.
Yes, the same for section from Slikboard to Electronics city. Yesterday evening noticed that they have started installing spans on already completed pillars near NICE road exit / Hosa road junction.

That said, there is no news on commencement of work on KR Puram - Marathahalli - Silkboard route. It was earlier communicated to our techpark on that route that work will commence in Sep - 2017. Apart from Embassy group putting a billboard near Devarabeesinahalli junction on the land they have handed over to BMRCL there are no visible indicators.
mpksuhas is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st July 2018, 19:20   #15818

Originally Posted by mpksuhas View Post

That said, there is no news on commencement of work on KR Puram - Marathahalli - Silkboard route. It was earlier communicated to our techpark on that route that work will commence in Sep - 2017. Apart from Embassy group putting a billboard near Devarabeesinahalli junction on the land they have handed over to BMRCL there are no visible indicators.
The work is still going on with respect to paperwork and funding. Not a single stone moved on the ground till date. This is also delaying the stretch between Baiyappanahalli till Lowry Memorial school since both the Purple line and the ORR line run parallel along this stretch. This includes the station at Tin factory junction. While the purple line has a stop here, the ORR line commercially ends at Lowry school and runs parallel to the purple line all the way till BYPL depot. Some thing never give a logical explanation to me. The only interchange between ORR and Purple line is at Lowry School. The trains can be made to reverse here and in case they have to reach the Depot(after two trips) they can just use the existing Purple line since its for a brief period of time and distance. Instead, four separate lines will run from BYPL Depot till the interchange, which means the construction will make the whole place a hell.
audioholic is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 1st July 2018, 21:11   #15819

Originally Posted by Rajeevraj View Post
Loved this
Maybe the black cats will also be scared to death and allow the drivers to move on. Black cat commandos maybe the answer to enforce discipline.
AltoLXI is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd July 2018, 14:08   #15820

Folks

This post is not necessarily a rant about bangalore traffic but definitely one of the contributors of the city traffic

If one looks at the registration no. series, KA 03 is the hot one as we have vehicles with registration KA 03 NC xxxx series. I have not come across any other registration series as fast as Indiranagar RTO (KA 03)
Yesterday while driving to Meenakshi mall, I saw a Toyota Fortuner with registration
no. KA 35 NT 9135.
I suppose KA 35 does not belong to Bangalore RTO and that being the case I am surprised by this registration no. as even KA 03 is yet to touch the ND series.
Old 2nd July 2018, 15:00   #15821

Originally Posted by suresh_gs View Post
Folks

I suppose KA 35 does not belong to Bangalore RTO and that being the case I am surprised by this registration no. as even KA 03 is yet to touch the ND series.
Multiple possibilities, and I can only guess the below instances:
  • Could be that the owner has paid up to RTO and obtained a number from a future series in advance due to his preference for the same number. We have a family friend who owns 50+ vehicles with the same number who has reserved that number in many advance series, even without an assigned car. In this case, the number KA35NT9135 does not exist in Vahan portal. I have adopted that trend by getting both my two wheelers with the same number in the end .
  • Another possibility is that the number would have been misspelt as NT instead of MT. This number again does not exist in the Vahan portal.
  • The last one I can think of is that the owner is portraying temporary registration as permanent. The temporary registration number is in the form of KA 35 TR/NT 0009135 and this guy would have made that as KA35NT9135. If they had used TR on the plate anyone can easily make out. When I brought my Ninja, I had obtained a TR number which was KA 05 TM/NT 0006384, and for the plate, I had got the actual lettering done which said KA 05 TM/NT 6384. But this guy seems to have played a trick.
Nonetheless, this guy is another crook who wants to either avoid paying LTT for the car, or just wants to mislead the police in case something goes wrong.
On another note, KA 03 has crossed NC since I see a couple of cars brought in my company which have the numbers 99xx brought a few weeks ago.

Last edited by audioholic : 2nd July 2018 at 15:02.
Old 2nd July 2018, 15:38   #15822

Multiple possibilities, and I can only guess the below instances
Originally Posted by suresh_gs View Post
Yesterday while driving to Meenakshi mall, I saw a Toyota Fortuner with registration no. KA 35 NT 9135.
KA-35 is Hospet. Looking at online information, it is currently at KA-35-N for LMVs. Maybe you misread the number?

On another note, KA 03 has crossed NC since I see a couple of cars brought in my company which have the numbers 99xx brought a few weeks ago.
Same online information says KA-03 is currently at NC-95xx. Advance booking of special numbers is allowed for up to 1000 ahead so if you have the moolah you can get up to KA-03-ND-0500 ish.

Site: http://164.100.80.164/fancyappln/
Old 2nd July 2018, 16:07   #15823

Originally Posted by Rajeevraj View Post
Haha, aptly put. Remember a couple of months ago there was a lunar eclipse (or some other moon-related phenomenon) and I think there are some associated beliefs that discourage people from being outdoors when it happens. I remember how empty the roads were on the way back from work in the evening on that day. The same roads see crawl-traffic at similar hours on other weekdays. I heard several colleagues say their parents/grandparents were insistent on them returning home before dark on that day.

Superstition rules. Even in the so-called 'high-tech' corridors of our so-called 'modern' city!
am1m is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd July 2018, 17:06   #15824

Originally Posted by binand View Post
KA-35 is Hospet. Looking at online information, it is currently at KA-35-N for LMVs. Maybe you misread the number?
It was very clear. KA 35 NT 9145. Very sure about it.
Old 8th July 2018, 01:28   #15825

In a pedestrian-friendly world, the footpath was occupied for construction and this is the how they made provision for people to walk.
Rants on Bangalore's traffic situation-1.jpg

It is no secret that BMRLC is building Bangalore metro and have awarded contracts to different large construction houses to widen roads and erect pillars. This is how they have occupied the footpaths for construction.
Rants on Bangalore's traffic situation-2.jpg
They could have marked 3ft road for pedestrians.

Where should the pedestrians go, without getting killed or maimed? Won't the construction company have to compensation in those cases? Why not just ban pedestrians?
Rants on Bangalore's traffic situation-3.jpg
This was near silk-board, where when vehicles stop at red signals, at least 50 to 100 folks cross the road.

What could be the reason for this apathy? Is it,
  • Illiteracy? - Civic authority has no idea how to cater to citizens
  • Contempt? - Civic authority knows how to make it better for citizens but they don't care.
msdivy is offline   (3) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com