Old 14th May 2018, 20:23   #13636
M35

Re: Car Audio Advice from the Audio Gurus: Use "Search thread" before posting a new Q!

Originally Posted by 5hadow View Post
1. Go for a ported box sub if boot space is not your concern. Nothing can beat that. Also, bigger the better.
I don't want any space taken up for the box/sub. In fact, I have an amp + pioneer sub in a ported box + polk + Boston components from my Scorpio. Since I don't wish to have any add on sticking out in my Yeti, I am not looking for such a set up.
2. If boot space cannot be sacrificed, under-seat subs are a very good option. You can find members here who have installed these in their hatches (i20, punto, etc) to SUVs (Scorpio, yeti, etc) and they are happy with them. Blaupunkt seems a popular choice.
I am an audiophile and am kind of sure that such under-seat active subwoofer wouldn't give me the Bass I am looking for, hence they are kind of ruled out. I am now more inclined towards the spare wheel one though quite expensive. Since these don't seem to be available in India, I am thinking of getting it from abroad, either from China or Hong Kong, where I reside these days.
Old 14th May 2018, 22:17   #13637

Re: Car Audio Advice from the Audio Gurus: Use "Search thread" before posting a new Q!

Originally Posted by M35 View Post
I am thinking of getting it from abroad, either from China or Hong Kong, where I reside these days.
Great, let us know how it goes.
Old 1st June 2018, 16:04   #13638

Dear Audio gurus and Audio enthusiasts,
have you fitted or used hi-res digital signal processors like Audison bit one HD or Audison bit ten HD along with a head unit that gives didgital output OR fittted the Audison bit play HD multi media player?

https://www.audison.eu/products/bit-one-hd/

https://www.audison.eu/products/bit-play-hd/

Bit one video

What headunits support digital out that can be passed via this DSP (Bit One HD for example( and then to which amplifier (D/A conv to speakers).?
Any installations of Bit Play HD?
I wish to get one of those either Bit Play HD or a new headunit that is compatible with Bit One HD.

I could not find any reference to these components in existing posts or threads.

regards
Rajesh
Old 20th June 2018, 12:43   #13639

Re: Car Audio Advice - given!

Mod note: Post edited for readability, please use proper punctuation and capitalization. Helps with readability. Also do a Preview before Submitting posts. Thanks.

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Hi. My first day here, so please be nice.

I'm in the car audio business, because i LOVE it. I'd be happy to offer any advice you may seek on your car audio system (new purchase, tweaks, tunes and general pish-pash)

Work is hectic but will try and return to this forum twice a day to help.

Hi!

I have installed through dealer Nexa sony XAV Ax 100, music system, part of Maruti genuine spares in my Maruti Ignis Zeta model.

Unfortunately, the wiring harness is done clumsily by these people. They have connected the USB cable outside, and have placed it in the glove compartment, instead of the dashboard. My inquiry with these guys, gave a negative reply, with an excuse stating sony does not provide suitable cable for this device. Using it has become very cumbersome, and looks untidy.

Could you please let me know if there is any other suitable wiring harness to fix this right.

Thanks in advance

Last edited by Jaggu : 20th June 2018 at 13:00. Reason: Post edited for readability, please use proper punctuation and capitalization.
Old 20th June 2018, 13:38   #13640

Originally Posted by cs_rajesh View Post
have you fitted or used hi-res digital signal processors like Audison bit one HD or Audison bit ten HD along with a head unit that gives didgital output OR fittted the Audison bit play HD multi media player?

https://www.audison.eu/products/bit-one-hd/

https://www.audison.eu/products/bit-play-hd/

Bit one video

What headunits support digital out that can be passed via this DSP (Bit One HD for example( and then to which amplifier (D/A conv to speakers).?
Any installations of Bit Play HD?
I wish to get one of those either Bit Play HD or a new headunit that is compatible with Bit One HD.

I could not find any reference to these components in existing posts or threads.

regards
Rajesh
I am no expert but would high fidelity sounds really shine in a car? Too much of road noise etc.

And as for the bitplay, i use a LG v30 with it's sabre dac with an aux cable and it plays anything you throw at it. Even SACD iso and DSD files

You could also look at the latest kenwood/jvc lineup which supporst 24/96 flacs but i guess the big daddy would the sony which plays almost everything but is some 1500 USDs!
Old 20th June 2018, 14:15   #13641

Re: Car Audio Advice - given!

Originally Posted by Natt1948 View Post
I have installed through dealer Nexa sony XAV Ax 100, music system, part of Maruti genuine spares in my Maruti Ignis Zeta model.

Unfortunately, the wiring harness is done clumsily by these people. They have connected the USB cable outside, and have placed it in the glove compartment, instead of the dashboard.
Actually the glove compartment is where I have got the USB cable in each of my cars. This is because I prefer to use dedicated media players for my in-car music.

I know if you want to use a mobile phone the dashboard is more convenient so you can ask any good audio installer to open the dash and remove the same cable from the glove compartment and leave it on the dash or maybe near your gear stick or hand brake.

BTW many also connect their mobile phones via BT to the car stereo. Your Sony is capable of that. That requires NO wires.

Originally Posted by cs_rajesh View Post
have you fitted or used hi-res digital signal processors
I have used the Bit One, Bit Ten and several other DSPs over the years. The DSP takes in analog from the head unit (via RCA). It can then be used to re-equalize and time align the audio signal to your preference.

One reason I find it almost essential to use a DSP is when you are upgrading the existing OEM speakers with after market speakers, amplifier and subwoofer while retaining the OEM car audio head unit. If you are replacing the OEM HU, most high end 3rd party HUs have a DSP built in today.

Most OEM speakers are severely limited especially in their frequency response so OEM Head Units have quite a lot of equalization designed to compensate for the limitations of the OEM speakers.

When you replace the OEM speakers with an amplifier and 3rd party speakers this heavily equalized signal from the OEM HUs makes the sound very un-natural. A DSP is able to re-equalize this to your preference.

Many DSPs come with microphones and you can use that to auto-tune the DSP for your car. Typically you have to repeat the tuning process 4-6 times to get a good average.

Last edited by navin : 20th June 2018 at 15:21.
navin is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 20th June 2018, 21:49   #13642

Thank you Navin
Appreciate your quick response
Old 21st June 2018, 14:24   #13643

Simple ICE upgrade for old Fortuner

I am planning to change the ICE for my 2010 Fortuner. Nothing fancy, as simple as possible. Just HU and 4 speakers. No amp or sub. I am not an audiophile, more of a roadtrip and wildlife photography enthusiast who spends a lot of time in the vehicle. Managed to survive with the silly stock ICE setup till now :-)

Requirements:
* Budget: 30-40K. Brand agnostic.
* Steering controls should work
* Better sound quality than stock set up. Mostly listen to rock, peppy Bollywood etc.
* Bluetooth connectivity for calls and music. Android phone.
* USB option
* Offline maps (preferable, not a biggie). E.g. screencasting. Have managed with Google Maps all these years during roadtrips :-)
* Don't wanna spend too much on damping. I often drive with windows rolled down, if the weather permits.
* Will do the installation in Bangalore (preferable) or NCR.

Is something like this worth going for? The first option. Isn't the HU too expensive relative to the speakers?
https://pioneer-india.in/upgrade-gui...mbinations/42/

Any changes re the HU or speakers e.g. mix and match? Would prefer to just change the speakers and HU without changing cables. How much extra for basic cabling and damping?

Last edited by nilanjanray : 21st June 2018 at 14:53.
Old 21st June 2018, 15:59   #13644
M35

Great, let us know how it goes.
Got it installed. It took some 3 hours for the installation. There were no RCA out on the stock Skoda HU; had to slice up the speaker lines. The effect is just mind blowing. It complements, with its superb low/mid, the already very good Skoda OE set up. My neighborhood car accessory shop guys were shocked to experience the output. They did their usual 'test' and were thoroughly impressed. ( I had gone there to fit a couple of LED headlights ). Absolutely amazing quality at any set volume.

Car Audio Advice from the Audio Gurus: Use "Search thread" before posting a new Q!-dsc_2050.jpg
M35 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 26th June 2018, 15:47   #13645

Re: Simple ICE upgrade for old Fortuner

Originally Posted by nilanjanray View Post
I am planning to change the ICE for my 2010 Fortuner.

Requirements:
* Budget: 30-40K. Brand agnostic.
* Steering controls should work
* Better sound quality than stock set up. Mostly listen to rock, peppy Bollywood etc.
* Bluetooth connectivity for calls and music. Android phone.
* USB option
* Offline maps (preferable, not a biggie). E.g. screencasting. Have managed with Google Maps all these years during roadtrips :-)
* Don't wanna spend too much on damping. I often drive with windows rolled down, if the weather permits.
* Will do the installation in Bangalore (preferable) or NCR.

Is something like this worth going for? The first option. Isn't the HU too expensive relative to the speakers?
https://pioneer-india.in/upgrade-gui...mbinations/42/

Any changes re the HU or speakers e.g. mix and match? Would prefer to just change the speakers and HU without changing cables. How much extra for basic cabling and damping?
Lets answer the simple questions first.

Most speakers work with most HUs. There are very few speakers that have low impedance (lower than 3ohms) that need better HUs and Amps.

The Car HU in the combinations you have selected are all mid spec HUs and the speakers are base level speakers. The reason is because of the features you desire (steering wheel controls, BT, Navigation, etc) that are not available in the base level HUs.

You can however select a cheaper HU with the same speakers without any significant loss in audio quality (your speakers are the weaker link) but with fewer features.

Pioneer is not a specialist speaker manufacturer. My suggestion is that you can choose the Pioneer HU that you like based on the features you desire then consider speakers from brands like Focal, DLS, Rainbow, Morel, etc.

For example if you consider a HU like the 299 you will still have 25k for speakers, damping, etc. It all depends if this one has the features you need.
https://pioneer-india.in/buy/car-ent...s/mvh-av299bt/

Focal, for example, has a basic line of car speakers called the Auditor line. You can choose speakers like these from DLS, Morel, Rainbow etc.
https://www.focal.com/en/car-audio/c...rmance/auditor
navin is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 26th June 2018, 17:37   #13646

As my Forester is coming closer to completion, so is the list of ICE components.
so far:
Pioneer 80prs
Audison Voce AVK6 front compos
Some basic Rockford Fosgate rear coaxials
Kenwood Excelon XR900-5 amplifier
Pioneer champion series dual coil 12inch subwoofer
Dampmat exceed damping sheets

Now I am on the lookout for good wiring kits. The reason I am trying to source everything individually myself is because I would be charged a lot at the place where I'm getting my audio installed. If anyone can shed light on what brand of wiring I need to buy explain to me what gauges of wires I need etc. That would be great.

Thanks in advance
IshaanIan is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 26th June 2018, 18:28   #13647

Re: Simple ICE upgrade for old Fortuner

Originally Posted by navin View Post
Lets answer the simple questions first.
Thanks Navin, this helps a lot!
nilanjanray is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th June 2018, 12:57   #13648

Originally Posted by invictus View Post

Recently My Duster's stock MediaNav stopped working. Now my search for new HU is on. I dont want to spend more than 15K on HU, since I want to have a display screen on the dashboard for my navigation, rear camera and dash cam need...Duster's HU placement in terms Navigation use is very bad and its difficult to keep looking down for Navigation assistance.

Now coming back to HU, Alpine CDE W265 BT/ JVC KW R930BT meets my expectation in terms of all the audio requirements. However would be great if anyone can suggest a better HU in this price bracket.

Dear All,

Can anyone please guide me on my above query? Also kindly advice on how to configuring steering mounted controls for Renault Duster...
Old 28th June 2018, 16:21   #13649

Originally Posted by invictus View Post
Now coming back to HU, Alpine CDE W265 BT meets my expectation in terms of all the audio requirements. However would be great if anyone can suggest a better HU in this price bracket.
The Alpine 265 is a great HU. It is hard to do better at that price. What I do not understand is how you gonna connect the OEM HU's display screen for my navigation, rear camera and dash cam and the Alpine for audio.

Technically you can but your dash and the wiring behind the dash is gonna be quite a mess. Assuming you have space for both the OEM HU and a 1DIN Alpine.
Old 30th June 2018, 01:19   #13650

Hi Audio Gurus, I'm in bit of a soup right now with my aging Volvo S80 V8, the car has been serving very well over the years, Although freakishly expensive to maintain but all forgotten when the pedal is put down on an empty stretch & the V8 symphony overpowers & satiates my inner lust for 8 Cylinder naturally aspirated engines.

Diving back to the topic the car came with a High End 12 Speaker Dynaudio system with amazing sound output but over the past 1 month, each door speaker has mysteriously been failing on me, now I am left with all 4 Door speakers not working including the tweeters except for the center channel which works fine.

Dealership has diagnosed and found the speakers to be dead (still scratching my head over how it happened) & has quoted upwards of 2 lakh rupees just to get the speakers replaced with OEM Dynaudio speakers with a waiting period of over 2 months !

My question would be what is the next best option the aftermarket way with Stock HU & Factory Amp, preferably 6.5 Inch Component speakers Setup available in Indian market that would atleast match or come close to the Factory Dynaudio setup on each of the 4 doors as of now. Pointers i was seeking were i. Good Clarity, ii. Good Mids, iii. Good Bass as i mostly listen to Trance music.

Pls note the speakers need to be hooked to stock wiring or i would get errors popping up in the dash (As advised by Volvo Service Advisor).

Thanks in Advance !

Additional - Stock Setup:
Name:  Screen Shot 20180630 at 1.29.25 AM.png
Views: 2051
Size:  167.6 KB

Last edited by ShortShifter : 30th June 2018 at 01:30.