Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Old 26th October 2010, 10:37   #196
BaldOwl

There is one at Mahadevpura, after More on the opposite side towards KR Puram.

Old 26th October 2010, 17:32   #197

I changed my Optra battery from the OE ACDelco to Amaron 95D26R which is a 70Ah battery recommended for Optra, I paid 4300/- after buyback of old battery, the lowest quote I had got was 4500/- till I talked to this guy from Kamanahalli, Sri Manjunatha battery Works, the battery has a 3 year warranty.
Old 11th December 2010, 20:18   #198

re: Amaron batteries

Hello guys,
I got amaron flo for my 2007 estilo today, since the OE battery hanged her boots. I bought it for Rs. 3500, after 700 discount for the dead one. I hope the price is all right. Battery has 2(replacement)+2(depreciated) years warranty.

Old 12th December 2010, 22:01   #199

Amaron battery for Chevy Tavera

Dear Team, after 4.11 years of faithful, trouble-free service, my AC DELCO battery is ready for retirement. My Chevy Tavera has run 97,150 kms.

Since the past few weeks, my Chevy's battery is getting weaker and weaker. One day, my Chevy refused to start after I parked him in the city after a short drive. I called a mechanic and he helped me push start Chevy and we reached home. The next day, Chevy started after two cranks. I took Chevy to the service centre. They checked the battery with a multi-meter. The reading we got in off positing was 12.7 and when switched on, the reading was 14.8. I was adviced not to change the battery then.

Everything was fine for a couple of weeks. I had to crank about 3 times for Chevy to start the first time everyday.

Today, Chevy refused to start and had to be push started. Luckily, our security guys helped us. I cannot take the risk of driving with this battery. If my wife and I are alone and then the battery acts up, we will be in trouble. Chevy weighs close to two tonnes.

I am thinking of buying an Amaron Battery tomorrow. My friend suggested a Bosch. Guys, please help me in choosing the right battery for my Chevy. He quoted Rs. 5.5K for the Bosch.

Which brand should I go for? Amaron or Bosch? Please advice as soon as possible!
Old 13th December 2010, 02:06   #200

Amaron any day. Not only is it the better battery but they also have a proper nationwide network for sales and service. Though the AC Delco and the Bosch are also very good products (I have used AC Delco in the past) but still given your outstation trips it is better to go with the company with the better network.
Old 13th December 2010, 05:27   #201

Re: Amaron battery for Chevy Tavera

Originally Posted by Chevy_lover View Post
Which brand should I go for? Amaron or Bosch? Please advice as soon as possible!
FYI, Bosch and AC Delco batteries available in India are manufactured by Amara Raja, the parent company of Amaron. That must tell you something.
Old 13th December 2010, 12:11   #202

Originally Posted by devrajman View Post
What is the basic difference between Amaron FLO and Amaron GO? And which one is better for long run?
Originally Posted by Twiny View Post
FLO - 48months warranty, Zero maintenance
GO - 36months warranty, Maintenance free

As suggested by their warranty, FLO should have better life
There's a PRO as well. 5 years (60 month) warranty.

Btw, what's the real difference between "Zero maintenance" and "Maintenance free"?

Arent all Amaron batteries supposed to be "Zero maintenance"?

My Amaron PRO has some sort of a green indicator. What's the utility of it?
Old 13th December 2010, 13:11   #203

^^^Zero maintainence: means you need never top up with water for a very long time... which could even be till the end of the battery's life (which means never).

Maintainence free: The term is a misnomer. You need to check up on water levels, albeit very infrequently.

Green indicator means the battery is sufficiently charged and in good state. When it isn't the color will change.
Old 13th December 2010, 14:49   #204
VMC

Re: Amaron battery dealer

Does anyone know Amaran Battery Dealer location in South Bangalore.
My Car needs a replacement battery.
BTW, how is the refund decided for old batteries?
Old 13th December 2010, 15:02   #205

Thank you, very much Khoj bhai and gthang.

I got a quote for Rs. 5K for Bosch 65A battery, after exchange. I will be visiting the Amaron dealer later today. Any idea how much an Amaron Pro battery with the above mentioned power rating will cost?

Now, surprisingly, my Delco battery is working perfectly. But I will have to get a new Amaron soon before my impending long drive. Thanks once again.
Old 13th December 2010, 17:39   #206

Originally Posted by Chevy_lover View Post
Any idea how much an Amaron Pro battery with the above mentioned power rating will cost?

Now, surprisingly, my Delco battery is working perfectly. But I will have to get a new Amaron soon before my impending long drive. Thanks once again.
For price have a word with Amaron on their any time response numbers from the following link Amaron - India's Most Powerful Battery go to pit stop and then to services, any ways the numbers are BSNL toll free no 1800 42 54848 or 0 98 409 54848. Meanwhile the local pit stop for Pune is located at Shop no 6, Kamal Prabha society, Opposite Police grounds, FC road. the shop name is Communique. You may be able to get the phone number from Just dial.

BTW this now 'go' now 'no go' pattern is mystifying. In addition the current values reported by you earlier also point to the alternator doing its job. Have you had a look at the ignition switch and the coil etc.
Old 13th December 2010, 17:58   #207

Thank you very much, Khoj Ji.

I drove through FC road yesterday and also today, hoping to spot the pit stop. I had seen it so many times earlier. I think the shop is no longer there. There is an AC DELCO shop there now.

There is an Amaron dealer on East Street, right opposite to Hong Kong Beauty Parlour. I might visit him today. Thanks once again.

Chevy's ignition and coil is in top condition. The coil light goes off after approx. 0.3 seconds after the ignition is turned on.

Last edited by Chevy_lover : 13th December 2010 at 18:10.
Old 13th December 2010, 19:00   #208

^^^The above mentioned dealer no longer deals in Amaron. He has changed over to AC Delco. I believe their main dealer is now located somewhere around Khadki. If that is too far, call or email them for other dealers. Else just call the Khadki dealer who will home deliver it.
Old 21st December 2010, 14:00   #209

I picked up an Amaron GO 35ah battery (38B20R) for my santro yesterday in Noida. It costed 2,600 with the old battery given in exchange.

Before buying, I did not know that it will be a zero maintenance battery with no need and place to fill water. I thought zero maintenance one's are only top of the line one's & are expensive. Can anyone help me with a couple of questions below?

1. Is 38B20R really 35ah? The dealer said so, but you can generally not trust them blindly in NCR. Also asking because earlier battery had MF40 written on it. Does MF40 mean 40ah or 35 only? These codes are kind of confusing.
2. Is 2,600 right price for this battery?
3. It has Aug 10 as manufactured date. Is 4 month old okay? I think it is, but then no earlier experience on batteries.

Just for the record, earlier battery was OE Exide Freedom which lasted very good 5 years and 10 months and 131k km's . I still decided to go for Amaron, don't know why?
Old 21st December 2010, 15:38   #210

^^^Four months is a bit too old. At least you should have checked the state of charge before buying.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com