Re: Mahindra XUV700 Review Hi Fellow BHPians,
This is my first ever post on Team-BHP and its going to be elaborate. Kindly bare with me!
Got the delivery of my XUV 700 AX7L D AT variant on Nov 2 on the occasion of Diwali Padwa. It was delivered by Sahyadri Motors, Baner Pune.
The delivery experience was spoiled due to the crowd. I should have chosen another day maybe. I don't blame dealer for this though. But I do blame the dealer for following reasons : Issues found in PDI
1) Car had 130 KMs on the odo. I was simply terrified by this. Asked for clarification but wasn't satisfied by the response. Apparently the car had to be driven for lot of distance since containers were not available for delivery due to festival season.
2) The interior was a bit dirty. The white roofline around sunroof was touched by some dirty people I believe. I had to get the cleaning done by professionals at 3M.
3) SD card and screen guard were not available. Without SD card, the video recording will not work (correct me if I am wrong).
I gave official feedback to Mahindra portal and sales person was not happy about it. But still it was important for me to share the feedback.
As per sales person, the 1.8 Lac discount was going to go away from 1st Nov. So I decided to bite the bullet. Driving experience so far
XUV 700 is a beast. I just keep looking for reasons to take her out!
1) Engine throttle response is super. The car never feels out of breath.
2) Suspension is sorted and absorbs the bad roads with ease.
3) Handling is seriously good for a car of this proportion.
4) Fit and finish is superior. Car feels premium inside and out. No wonder it sells 5X than its chief competitor.
5) Music system and infotainment are decent enough. Bluetooth and Android Auto connectivity is predictable and works without a fuss.
6) Rear sit comfort and space is really good. You barely hear the engine on rear sit.
7) Adaptive cruise control works beautifully. Quirks
1) Android auto is connected by default every time I turn the ignition ON and I have to disconnect it from my phone to use the home screen i.e. I can't switch the source using source button. For example, if I have to change ventilated seat settings, I have to disconnect Android auto from my phone first.
2) Tyre pressure numbers shown by TPMS are not in sync with the ones shown in machine. Does TMPS require calibration ? Is this related to 'TPMS auto learn', 'Tyre Fill assist' feature ? Things that are not working
1) I am not able to switch drive modes either using button or settings menu. Looks like @babu916 faced the exact same issue.
2) The door lock chime is not working. As per user manual, if Lock and Unlock button are pressed for more than 3 seconds together, the chime can be enabled or disabled. It hasn't worked for me so far. Things that could be better
1) Engine is noisy and you can hear it on driver's seat. Not on rear seat though. At steady speeds, you will not be able to differentiate petrol from diesel.
2) Adaptive cruise control gets confused at times. If the car in front, changes the lane suddenly the feature fails to slow down the car or apply breaks. I think there is no engine breaking used by this feature.
Whenever it wants to slow down, it will always apply breaks and passengers will feel the deceleration and subsequent acceleration.
3) Camera quality is just poor when we compare with its chief rival the Tata tweens.
4) The fit of the 7D mats that were installed as an accessory is simply terrible. I never expected the official accessory to be this inconsistent. The mat feels totally oversized for second row. Should have gone for after market ones. Additional installations
Installed PPF and Glass tint at 3M.
1) PPF Gloss 50 full body. Cost 80K (before tax)
2) Sunfilm CR 70. All glasses except sunroof and rear window. Cost 30K (before tax)
Total amount paid to 3M was 130K.
I would say PPF is a personal choice. It definitely improves the look and feel from outside.
Sunfilm is a must. I can feel the difference when the car is parked in sun. Highly recommended.
Looking forward to some good times and happy stories with my car !
Last edited by maverick9888 : 21st November 2024 at 14:12.
|