Old 17th September 2010, 22:54   #3256

Originally Posted by hiren.mistry View Post
It is very difficult to come across any decent alloy cleaners. Here in Bombay there are very, very few options.

I am keen on knowing what you, MKH and Sohail use for your alloys? My alloys are very soiled, using an old toothbrush and kerosene help?

I have managed to buy a chamois cloth, any pointers what is its use and how to use it? Is it used just to dry off the car?
As for alloys - they deserve the same care as other parts of the car. So while washing the car, I clean them with the car wash/wash mitt and then rinse away with water. Finally dry with the chamois.
Once a month I use the hot rims all wheel cleaner after the initial wash, use a old soft toothbrush to spread it and finally rinse way 4-5 minutes later with water.
Same with tires too - every week they get a wash with car wash and every month a dressing with tire shine.

As for chamois - I use this one (got a friend to get 2 of these from UK). You can refer to the care instructions in the second pic.

A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-dsc02460.jpg

A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-dsc02461.jpg
Old 17th September 2010, 23:12   #3257

Originally Posted by NOS Power View Post
@Nirmal, that is one amazing collection you have there. You are making me feel extremely jealous now.

On the other note, did you encounter any customs or shipping related problems while brining these down? Also which online trader did you use to bring these down? Please share, am itching to place an order, if not for these questions.
Thanks NOS power ! I ordered these from Autogeek during their July 4th sale, super discounts upto 40% ! Awesome customer care from Autogeek, Parcel from USPS landed in 5 days, getting it out from Indian customs, 2 weeks :( I had to visit the Customs with the invoice copy, grease their palms & finally got it after waiting for what seemed like eternity !

Product cost = 125 USD
Shipping cost = 140 USD
Customs duty = 30% of the sum of the both above
Grease = 300 INR

Originally Posted by blackasta View Post
@nirmaljustdoit - seems we both share a love for meg's products and cats
I have a subset of your collection myself.
BTW did you try colorx ?
Thanks Blackasta, what a coincidence ! Im sure your collection will only grow ! Color X is a good AIO cleaner wax, which cleans the paint, polishes & waxes all in one step, i used it post claying, & it does a really great job. - pic attached.

Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
I think that polishing cloth with the ears must be a little difficult to use?
You bet sir, makes a good cloth for buffing, hehehe !

Originally Posted by NOTORIOUS View Post
@Nirmal : great , mera time bhi aayega !!!

Waiting for answere of this question ....
Notorious ji, question answered above !

Originally Posted by sagarpadaki View Post
Nirmal,you have a very cute cat.I love cats !

And how to apply the Endurance tyre gel??what is the procedure?Do you need some special applicators?
I have a special applicator for applying the gel - pic attached (any foam applicator will do) I find it to be pretty long lasting considering it faces up to well to the terrible muddy B'lore roads !
A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-dsc01328.jpg  

Old 17th September 2010, 23:16   #3258

Very limited. I have a waxpol tire shine (desi) and a meguiars hot rims all wheel cleaner(imported).
I asked a few people how do you take care of tires - they said tires are there to take the beating and occasionally cleaned with water.
Furthermore when I asked for alloy rim cleaner in a store, they replied they do not stock any as there is very less demand for it, and many clean their alloys with a weak solution of acid (have any of you heard about this?).

Yes,i have heard of people using weak acid for rims.

I personally use Formula1 Wheel Gold for my i20 rims.Its very good i must say.Got it from Spar super market.

Formula 1 High-Performance Auto Care Products

For tyre care i am using cyclo foam spray.But the problem is it gives a matt finish and not a glossy one.So i want a tyre care product which gives a shiny tyre surface.How is waxpol?does it give shine??
Old 17th September 2010, 23:42   #3259

Very limited. I have a waxpol tire shine (desi) and a meguiars hot rims all wheel cleaner(imported).
I asked a few people how do you take care of tires - they said tires are there to take the beating and occasionally cleaned with water.
Furthermore when I asked for alloy rim cleaner in a store, they replied they do not stock any as there is very less demand for it, and many clean their alloys with a weak solution of acid (have any of you heard about this?).
Waaaat Acid !!?? Is it a toilet bowl !? Though there are some rim cleaners which are corrosive if left on for too long without rinsing !

It is very difficult to come across any decent alloy cleaners. Here in Bombay there are very, very few options.

I am keen on knowing what you, MKH and Sohail use for your alloys? My alloys are very soiled, using an old toothbrush and kerosene help?

I have managed to buy a chamois cloth, any pointers what is its use and how to use it? Is it used just to dry off the car?
Hiren - i use the foll combo, a diluted solution of Sonax shampoo in an old spray bottle, with a 1" paint soft bristle brush to get in all the crannies (hub nuts, esp) Very convenient, spray with one hand & brush with the other ! Please post some pics of your alloys for us to comment better, kerosene is a no - no, if your alloys are clear coated, it will weaken the paint ! You can also try isopropyl alcohol, its very good for removing brake dust & stains. You can also clay your alloys & protect them with sealant for better protection !

Sagar
- You can pick up the Armor all Extreme tyre shine gel. I got mine from Evo in Cambridge Layout, costs 650 rs a bottle. Intense shine & pretty long lasting too ! Goes on very easy with the supplied applicator - pic attached !
A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-dsc01329.jpg  

A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-dsc01331.jpg  

Old 17th September 2010, 23:44   #3260

^I agree!

Is the product good?I mean is it worth having some one bring it from US?What are the best options available for tyre care in india?
You can get TurtleWax Wet n Black or Armor All Tyre foam/gel(both available here) (with foam you wont need an applicator)

TurtleWax will also give you a super shiny finish on the sidewalls.(available in aerosol form)

Alloy rim cleaners are not meant for frequent use!(The acidic ones!! and all rim cleaners available in India are oxalic acid based) (in US you get citrus based(paint/cc safe) cleaners like P21S total auto wash, Meguiars APC+ etc.)
maybe like once in a few months(on daily drivers), that further depends on whether the rims are waxed/sealed or not and cared for properly or not!

If you properly clean your rims and wax/seal them regularly, next time when you clean them it'll be super easy! + all you'll need is car wash solution and water in a spray bottle instead of a rim cleaner!!

I feel rim cleaners are for detailers/enthusiasts only, who work on neglected rims for ppl not aware of wax/cleaning techniques/how to maintain rims etc.

First try cleaning them with car wash shampoo and water with a very soft brush! (toothbrushes are hard enough to scratch the clear-coated rims)

If it doesn't work, then you need a rim cleaner. Just use it once and after you have cleaned the rims and dried them, apply a cot of wax or a sealant to protect the finish.

Also then if next time it gets soiled, you'll be amazed how easy it it so clean them with normal car wash shampoo and water!

@Nirmaljusdoit - Did you notice the swirls on the colorX label!

Last edited by sohail99 : 17th September 2010 at 23:53.
Old 18th September 2010, 09:14   #3261

Guys,its written on the formula1 rim cleaner that it contains oxalic acid.So is it safe to use??
Old 18th September 2010, 09:42   #3262

As for alloys - they deserve the same care as other parts of the car. So while washing the car, I clean them with the car wash/wash mitt and then rinse away with water. Finally dry with the chamois.
Once a month I use the hot rims all wheel cleaner after the initial wash, use a old soft toothbrush to spread it and finally rinse way 4-5 minutes later with water.
Same with tires too - every week they get a wash with car wash and every month a dressing with tire shine.

As for chamois - I use this one (got a friend to get 2 of these from UK). You can refer to the care instructions in the second pic.
Thats a nice looking chamois, I just have a product called clean cham.
I agree the wheels and tires deserve the same TLC treatment as the rest of the car.

I don't have a dedicated rim cleaner, yet but will surely get one ASAP.

Originally Posted by nirmaljusdoit View Post
Hiren - i use the foll combo, a diluted solution of Sonax shampoo in an old spray bottle, with a 1" paint soft bristle brush to get in all the crannies (hub nuts, esp) Very convenient, spray with one hand & brush with the other ! Please post some pics of your alloys for us to comment better, kerosene is a no - no, if your alloys are clear coated, it will weaken the paint ! You can also try isopropyl alcohol, its very good for removing brake dust & stains. You can also clay your alloys & protect them with sealant for better protection !
Thanks Nirmal, I will try to do the same. I have Formula 1 Wash and Wax liquid. I will post pics of my car as well as the rims today before I start washing it.

Originally Posted by sohail99 View Post

If you properly clean your rims and wax/seal them regularly, next time when you clean them it'll be super easy! + all you'll need is car wash solution and water in a spray bottle instead of a rim cleaner!!

I feel rim cleaners are for detailers/enthusiasts only, who work on neglected rims for ppl not aware of wax/cleaning techniques/how to maintain rims etc.

First try cleaning them with car wash shampoo and water with a very soft brush! (toothbrushes are hard enough to scratch the clear-coated rims)

If it doesn't work, then you need a rim cleaner. Just use it once and after you have cleaned the rims and dried them, apply a cot of wax or a sealant to protect the finish.

Also then if next time it gets soiled, you'll be amazed how easy it it so clean them with normal car wash shampoo and water!
Yes, I agree. The first time is probably going to be the most difficult. Once I get started I intend to wash and detail the car once a week.

And thanks for the tip, I will use my car shampoo and water for the rims as well.

Cheers and thanks guys!
Old 18th September 2010, 09:52   #3263

Guys,its written on the formula1 rim cleaner that it contains oxalic acid.So is it safe to use??
I'd try cleaning the rims with car wash shampoo + water first.

If the stains/soiling is really stubborn and the shampoo isn't working, then switch to a rim cleaner.

And yes, these cleaners are safe(only if not used regularly + just spray it on, and after 15 -20 seconds rinse with car wash soap and water. You can agitate the grime with a soft brush if you want)

(just make sure you don't get any of it on the car's panels. If you do, immediately wash that spot with car shampoo and re-wax that area again)

Follow up with a nice thin coat of wax!

Last edited by sohail99 : 18th September 2010 at 09:53.
Old 18th September 2010, 12:48   #3264

@ Nirmal : Thanx Sir Ji .

But Here are some calculations.

Cost: 125 USD = Rs 5750 @46

Shipping : 140 USD = Rs 6440 @46

Clearing From Customs : 300

Duty : 30% of 265 USD = 3657

Total =16147

You Paid Three times the cost of products

Last edited by NOTORIOUS : 18th September 2010 at 12:49.
Old 18th September 2010, 12:52   #3265

Question for you guys?

Has anyone here tried com-paint ? Com-Paint Touchup Spray Paint, aerosol spray paint, supplier of spray paint,spray, spray paint, touchup, touch-up, aerosol spray paint manufacturers, spray paint,Touchup, Touch-up Spray, Spray Bottle, aerosol spray paint manufacturer, com-paint manuf

I have picked one up as there are quite a few discolorations (thanks to Bangalore Auto's and 2 wheelers)

Wanted to know the feedback about the product..

Sateesh
Old 18th September 2010, 13:10   #3266

Discolorations as in?(can you post pics)

Discolorations can also occur due to paint transfers(which is super easy to remove)

Touch up paint like these are only needed when the paint has been eroded to the primer or sheet metal.
(then too you dont just spray and forget. You have to level it to the surrounding paint and polish it to blend in!)
Old 18th September 2010, 14:04   #3267

Originally Posted by csateesh View Post
Has anyone here tried com-paint ? ...
Sateesh,

Had brought and tried them and messed up!

Seems more due to my mistake in doing it the wrong way. Anyway, made a patch on my Safari and my dad's Estilo. Stopped that DIY's from them. Now no idea where the can's are!

Color match will be an issue (unless it is black or white).
Old 18th September 2010, 20:34   #3268

Originally Posted by sohail99 View Post
Discolorations as in?(can you post pics)

Discolorations can also occur due to paint transfers(which is super easy to remove)

Touch up paint like these are only needed when the paint has been eroded to the primer or sheet metal.
(then too you dont just spray and forget. You have to level it to the surrounding paint and polish it to blend in!)
Sohail

The discolorations are on the bumper and the primer from the bumper is gone and the rubber is visible

1. Black streak on the left. Tried to remove them using polishes and IPA but haven't been successful
2. I once backed into a small rock so the rear bumper has a lot of small dots

The above are the ones that I am trying to fix.

Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
Sateesh,

Had brought and tried them and messed up!

Seems more due to my mistake in doing it the wrong way. Anyway, made a patch on my Safari and my dad's Estilo. Stopped that DIY's from them. Now no idea where the can's are!

Color match will be an issue (unless it is black or white).
Thanks for the info HW. The bumpers look a little bad and want to fix it. I am not too worried if patches are created as the bumpers with the patches will look atleast of the same color than what is possible

Sateesh

Last edited by csateesh : 18th September 2010 at 20:36.
Old 18th September 2010, 21:35   #3269

I think you are not looking at it right. First there are many types of alloys. Magnesium, Aluminium and finally painted. If your alloys are after market then you need to find out what type they are. For cleaning any of these types you MUST use a PH-neutral wheel cleaner. Read that some people use acid - they must hate their alloys !!

As for the gunk on the wheels - they are muck from the road - this is easily cleaned by shampoo solution. Then there is brake dust - if you have disk brakes on your car look at the wheels which has it and you will find dark specks adhering to the alloys. Brake dust is corrosive and if left for long will damage your wheels. Due to the adhesives used in the brake pads the dust also tends to adhere to the alloys. Mixed with water from the road these will pit your alloys if you do not clean them regularly. Heavy deposits of brake dust will not get removed by water or shampoo. You will need to use a wheel cleaner to dislodge them.

If your wheels are painted - which is very likely - you can treat them as you treat the paint on your car. Wash-(car)polish-seal-wax. For mag & al wheels you will have to get a special metal polish for use after the wheel cleaner. Sealant & waxes will not work on metal. DO NOT use metal polish on painted alloys - you will damage them.
Old 18th September 2010, 21:47   #3270

Regarding brake dust, I've heard that carbon ceramic disc brakes don't produce that much dust as compared to conventional ones!(+ better braking power, less fade etc.)

Con- Cost! :(

Btw I recently started using citrus cleaner/degreaser for wheels/engine/underbody and on any stubborn grime on the paint(its paint safe!) and it works great!