Old 10th October 2021, 10:20   #2011

Re: Mahindra XUV700 Review

Originally Posted by 84.monsoon View Post
For symmetry of design, the needles on the right dial go counter-clockwise , while the one on the left goes clockwise as the speeds/engine revs climb.
Makes sense, I initially thought that why can't they have both dials go clockwise but this approach looks cleaner especially with the ADAS alers occupying the center area.

The speedo being conventional direction is better than being in the conventional location.

Last edited by shancz : 10th October 2021 at 10:21. Reason: ccl
shancz is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th October 2021, 10:46   #2012

1. Is there any estimated break up of these 50k bookings in Petrol and Diesel? The dealer in my city said that more people will be opting for Diesel whereas Mahindra is prioritising petrol deliveries and also due to the 10 year rule many people (including myself) in NCR look at the Petrol variants only.

2. Is there any Update about the NCAP ratings? The car has been announced, revealed and launched. Are there any more steps left before we finally see the crash test?

Last edited by quantobigboot : 10th October 2021 at 10:48. Reason: Correction in a sentence.
quantobigboot is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th October 2021, 10:47   #2013

I was following all the news and information regarding this promising vehicle ever since it was first launched on Independence Day, but unfortunately was caught up with personal work in the past week. Now all of a sudden the 700 seems so far off my grasp ! Truly saddening..

I was having a confusion regarding the initial pricing vs niggles trade off, and also regarding what most who were aiming for the mid variants had - whether M&M were intentionally degrading AX5 and AX3 to make customers stretch for AX7. I didn't want to fall into any trap like FOMO despite knowing that M&M were not focusing on these mid variants, but now it seems I've contracted 'DOMO' (Disappointment-Of-Missing-Out)

I honestly expected a week's time to be in the first 25k
booking range. But to see 50k bookings in what, 177 minutes is surely something that I can't believe. Now there's no guarantee on what we'll be paying for what we buy, and no guarantee on how the features would be re-distributed among the variants. All this confusion when I did want an upgrade at the earliest, which is really not welcome. Now it seems only MX is VFM for those who can't afford AX7 or beyond. With accessories list including the likes of alloys, reverse cam, LED headlamps, etc etc, the only real misses would be the 10.25 inch screens and AT option.

That makes me ask, what are the odds that M&M would/could introduce cheaper automatics like say iMT for MX/AX3 variants in the near future ? Wouldn't that really make people opt for 700 instead of the Cretas and Seltos' ? Otherwise I don't see a threat for the CSUV segment coming from the 700, especially if someone is in the market for a non-manual transmission, with a budget less than 18L.
APB98 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 10th October 2021, 10:50   #2014

Got an update from the dealer on the mileage and boot space.

1. Mileage - Gasoline - 13.5 kmpl
2. Mileage - Diesel - 16.8 kmpl
3. Warranty - 3 yrs unlimited
4. Vehicle dimension is same in all variants of XUV7OO
5. Boot space - 5 seater - 1025 ltrs (2nd row folded)
6. Boot space - 7 seater - 900 ltrs (3rd row folded)
7. Boot space - 7 seater - 220 ltrs
8. AC vents in all rows
9. Ground clearance - 200 mm
10. Air bags - Base 2; Top - 7
febin8055 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 10th October 2021, 10:53   #2015

Originally Posted by neeraj0272 View Post
Knowing that only way Indian businesses respond to competition is by cost cutting which invariably means drop in quality , I as a consumer would unhesitatingly give priority to 'Made in a foreign country' products.
Anyone who argues otherwise must first see firsthand how quality plays second fiddle to cost in manufacturing products in India.
This is a bit of 1970s and 80s attitude, I must respectfully say. Even high precision industries like aerospace, medical instrumentation, space exploration etc. are coming to India for global sourcing, knowing India is a future tech and manufacturing beacon, plus can deliver high value at a slightly lower cost point. Labour is a small component of manufacturing cost, where India may have an advantage, all other inputs like materials, power, transport etc. are probably more expensive in India - yet global MNCs are making a beeline to India for sourcing precision components and to use it as a global manufacturing hub, knowing the potential of the country as one of too future markets of the world as well as a second factory to the world beyond China.

Originally Posted by The Alchemist View Post
Delivery update from Mahindra. Petrol variant deliveries to start by end of October and Diesel variant deliveries to start by November end.

Attachment 2217455
"Delivery dates to be arrived at in partnership with a reputed consulting company for an algorithm based process"

I was just waiting to see when the allocation algorithms would kick in. Mahindra fully realises the company profitability from selling it's most promising product over the next 12 months depends heavily on the variant mix that is sold. The reputed consulting company that is being brought in to write the algorithms to allocate the units to the customers probably has just one brief - maximize profits for M&M. I would have loved to be consulting company partner who won this project - It is obvious that the consulting company is going to advice Mahindra to prioritise the variants with the highest profit margin to be delivered first. Job done and project report written in a few hours, as all that the team needs to do is to calculate margins from different variants and sequence them in decreasing order of profits, asking M&M to start production and delivery from the top of the chart and work down. See my post illustrating a simple scenario on how variant mix can vastly vary profits on the XUV700 below.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/offic...ml#post5168751 (Mahindra XUV700 Review)

All of this means the AX7 and AX7 l variants will probably all get delivered first and then the allocation would trickle down to the AX5 and AX3 and finally, if at all, to the cheapest MX models.

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 10th October 2021 at 11:10.
84.monsoon is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 10th October 2021, 11:16   #2016

Originally Posted by febin8055 View Post
5. Boot space - 5 seater - 1025 ltrs (2nd row folded)
6. Boot space - 7 seater - 900 ltrs (3rd row folded)
7. Boot space - 7 seater - 220 ltrs
Looks like they are measuring the boot space till the roof? I think the boot space with the last row folded should be in the region of 550-600 ltrs. 900 ltrs of boot space is not possible even in cars like Kia Carnival or Toyota Landcruiser.
Guna is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 10th October 2021, 11:46   #2017

I used to work for a global aerospace leader Boeing, India is one of the major suppliers for their range of products. Fuselage for Apache, beams and fin structures for 737. This is done by none other than Tata (TASL).
I have friends working in
1. Nvidia - whose chips go into Mercedes infotainment
2. Continental - design ECUs and fuel pumps which are exported all over the world
3. Delphi - Design and test ADAS for German brands
And many more that I am not aware of.
It is foolishness to assume all things made in India are not upto the industry standards and all things made outside of India are of high quality. Statement stands true for other way around.
We are living in an economy where every everything is globalised, sad to see Indian manufacturing scene potrayed and understood in a negative sense.
Coming to the cost cutting part, for this one has to understand economics of scale as other bhpian pointed out. To give an example, a manufacturer can negotiate with the suppliers for better price if he orders in huge quantity. Essentially the same material is sold to different manufacturers at different prices as per the order size. There are many ways to achieve cost cutting not necessarily compromising on the quality.
We have to wait and see what's the strategy and approach from Mahindra on this. By looking at all the effort went into this explained by Veluswami I hope Mahindra didn't compromise on quality.
XUV has some advantage over its competition as the ICE is completely developed inhouse and used across its portfolio, so they dont need to pay premium to buy from other companies. This is where it has edge over Tata.
I really hope there are no teething issues with XUV atleast from mechanical perspective, I guess there will be a handful from electronics which can be solved by a software update.
All in all, I took a calculated risk and booked AX7, I hope mahindra doesn't disappoint.
RachhaMan10 is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 10th October 2021, 12:07   #2018

I visited the Thane showroom recently and here are some of my thoughts, I'll be skipping all points which have already being mentioned previously.

The good stuff:

Every review praising the car is spot on. This is hands down the best SUV in the 25L range.

The Thane showroom, Salasar Autocrafts has exceptional customer service. Even among the mad rush, they made sure to keep me posted, offer drinks, answer every question. The salesperson was very knowledgable as well, he proudly told me how the staff there went to Mahindra for training especially with all the new gizmos involved.

Minor niggles/inconveniences:

I drove the petrol AT and it is truly refined and powerful. This was my first time with a TC based transmission, coming from a CVT the gear changes are not as smooth and I could definitely feel a slight lag when the gear changes. Maybe this is common with every TC.

No drive modes on the petrol variant but the shortcut to bring up the modes was kept blank. In fact there are several blank buttons beside the hill decent control control. This really spoils the otherwise clean look.

The luxury variant gets electric door retract and since these close inwards I was afraid what would happen if someone had they fingers inside the door handle while it retracted. Happy to report that I tried this out - placed my bike glove in-between the handles and locked the car via remote. The door handles have an almost spring like behavior where there is very little pressure. Suffice to say, no fingers will be getting hurt due to accidental locks.

Sky-roof operation is 1 click. This is actually very irritating because the 1 click action opens the curtain as well as sun-roof. 9/10 times you'd want only the curtain to open. Opening just the curtain is a 3-step process, first you let the entire sun-roof open, then press again to close the roof and press a 3rd time to stop. I have no idea how this passed usability checks but it will be annoying especially during rains.

I really hope I have missed something about the sun-roof operation or that Mahindra will change it's behavior in final units.

The white interiors already had smudge marks everywhere. This is going to be a pain to maintain. Glossy surface near the gear lever and controls was full of micro scratches. I'd highly recommend getting some sort of protection film installed in that area, cause it looks very bad.
Tanmay007 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 10th October 2021, 12:18   #2019

To the fellow Bhpians who have booked in the first lot, has anyone got any kind of communication from their respective dealers on the exact date of delivery?
Old 10th October 2021, 12:18   #2020

Originally Posted by Geta View Post
I have a few queries.

2) How come XUV700 (which was designed to be the second generation of XUV500 till a few months back) is a "freshly baked product and hence will have niggles" but several other new vehicles like Innova Crysta, 2021 Skoda Octavia with completely new platforms and powertrains are just "updated" vehicles which are allowed to carry the legacy?

Please allow me to throw some light on this - the Innova Crysta brought nothing new to the table technology wise. Toyota is notoriously wary of new technologies and apart from hybrids, has shied away from implementing any new technologies that might significantly affect reliability.

The Germans, however, are on the cutting edge, from small capacity turbo petrols to large 55 inch displays in cars. This is one of the reasons why their reliability is decried so much on the forum. GTO advises everyone to stay away from the first model year of Mercs and BMW's for a reason. Heck, the Octavia (and all VAG cars) still come with the disclaimer that the DSG gearbox has a high propensity for failure.

Both these approaches have their merit - users get to experience brand new, cutting edge tech knowing that it might not be the most reliable.

Coming to Mahindra - Their powertrains have always been brilliant and their vehicles are rugged and built to conquer Indian conditions. The mechanical reliability of any Mahindra has never been in question. Their focus on safety for the Indian market has also been evident from the launch of the XUV500 itself and needs to be lauded.

A very close relative of mine used to work for one of the largest camera sensor manufacturers in the world, an OEM supplier to pretty much every global auto brand. In a meeting with the team from Mahindra, he was asked questions like 'Why do we need a lens on top of the sensor?' by the people with the authority to sign off on cameras that end up in the car. Also having worked with Mahindra in the past, their expertise on electronics systems is not something I'd place blind trust in.

Look at it this way - Mercedes first launched the first building block of ADAS (Adaptive cruse control, also called Distronic Plus, back in the late 90's with the W220 S Class). They've had over 20 years of experience and data about the failure modes and shortcomings of the system and have been iteratively adding functionality to it to make it work better. Mahindra is jumping into the deep end of the pool with a full blown system that nobody has properly optimized for Indian driving conditions. Yet.
Hence, there are bound to be teething issues and niggles and one should be prepared for them due to the sheer technology that has gone into the car from a manufacturer that doesn't have a lot of experience in it.

Remember, India built a 4th Generation fighter (Tejas) directly, but it took a lot of time, effort and resources as compared to nations who went from 2nd to 3rd to 4th gen fighters.

TL, DR: What Mahindra has managed to achieve is spectacular. A fully loaded SUV with brilliant powertrains and the latest tech at a mouthwatering price. But, as with any new technology, especially from a manufacturer with no previous experience in deploying said technology at scale, expect teething trouble and some niggles.

PS: I say this as someone who is an admirer of Mahindra for what they have managed to achieve and yet have very little interest in the XUV700 as a product.
thechinmay is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 10th October 2021, 12:49   #2021

Even if the prioritisation algorithm sequences deliveries based on margins, variants below AX7s booked in 7th should still get prioritized above AX7s booked on 8th, right?
Old 10th October 2021, 13:08   #2022

Originally Posted by thechinmay View Post
Look at it this way - Mercedes first launched the first building block of ADAS (Adaptive cruse control, also called Distronic Plus, back in the late 90's with the W220 S Class). They've had over 20 years of experience and data about the failure modes and shortcomings of the system and have been iteratively adding functionality to it to make it work better. Mahindra is jumping into the deep end of the pool with a full blown system that nobody has properly optimized for Indian driving conditions. Yet.
Hence, there are bound to be teething issues and niggles and one should be prepared for them due to the sheer technology that has gone into the car from a manufacturer that doesn't have a lot of experience in it.
As far as I know, ADAS in Mahindra is provided by Mobileye. Mobileye is a pioneer in this field and they are a company which is into fully autonomous vehicles. According to Mobileye, they have tested extensively in Indian conditions and they are confident that the system would be working good. There might be some teething problems but going by the reputation and background of Mobileye, I dont think we might be having any major problem with the ADAS features offered.
Vivek Menon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th October 2021, 13:12   #2023

Good news.
Dealer called to say I got my choice booked in the first 25k.
AWD AX7-L Auto Diesel it is in Midnight Black, which is, of course just a Pantone shade of some Navy blue colour.

Test drove petrol automatic and diesel manual back to back at highway speeds. Read: 120kmph. Steering weighed up nicely although artificially. So basically super light in traffic and relatively heavy at highway speeds. Will do fine for me. Zoom mode is pretty good but it somehow turned off automatically within a few minutes. Zap mode is good enough though.

I drive a 2014 new model Scorpio and it is almost the other way around. It is relatively heavy at low speed and marginally light at highway speeds. Of course, got used to it.

As I have driven adaptive cruise control vehicles quite extensively in Europe since 2014 onwards, I am a huge fan of this technology. Especially for those long overnight highway drives at night, munching miles. Just following a well paced car or truck at safe distance. I so wished for a car with Adaptive cruise control with Traffic jam assist. Mahindra obliged and I am really looking forward to it. How-ever useful it is but it's a start nonetheless for the mass market. 50,000 sold in 3 hours, I guess we can call it mass market.

I reckon Mahindra intended to make XUV 7OO a premium product then realized with the Covid situation they should cover more bases than just the top. The market however was ready for a premium SUV in the 18-28 lakh bracket. Creta/Seltos success and the relative success of Harrier/Safari did indicate the same.
They would probably kill off MX and AX3 variants when they wish to bring in XUV 5OO in a couple of years. By that time the pricing of 7OO would surely start from 15-16 lakh or so.

Lovely video from Jammu on ADAS working. Very nice!

By the way, owning a Mahindra Scorpio was a decision by choice back in December 2014. We had our eyes set on the Innova but the lack of features in the 10-15 lakh bracket had us delay our purchase. Eventually drove the new gen Scorpio reluctantly and we were mighty impressed by the mHawk diesel engine, and it's ride quality when compared to the old Scorpios. It was a done deal on first drive.

We did face minor issues but all of them were dealt with on time and with eagerness from Mahindra service center. It is a great idea to meet the Service center boss on the day of delivery. The service center head and the other service center guys will be the most important people post delivery.
We sure did the same and it made a huge difference to our ownership.

By the way, someone mentioned Vikas Dayal, Explore The Unseen 2.0 on YouTube. He swears by his XUV 500. He loves the car completely as it has taken him wherever he wished without trouble. His, is the FWD version which he takes deliberately to places where 4x4 would be an absolutely requisite. Makes me wonder why I chose AWD when he goes everywhere with FWD. But then again, and in his own words "udhta teer lena ka shauq hai."

He, however, is not happy with Mahindra service guys for which he cribs and made videos.
Mahindra service guys visited his home to apologise which you can find on his channel as well.

Long post apology. Thanks.

Last edited by fazalmirza : 10th October 2021 at 13:23. Reason: Words
fazalmirza is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 10th October 2021, 13:38   #2024

Originally Posted by thechinmay View Post
Please allow me to throw some light on this - the Innova Crysta brought nothing new to the table technology wise. Toyota is notoriously wary of new technologies and apart from hybrids, has shied away from implementing any new technologies that might significantly affect reliability.

The Germans, however, are on the cutting edge, from small capacity turbo petrols to large 55 inch displays in cars. This is one of the reasons why their reliability is decried so much on the forum. GTO advises everyone to stay away from the first model year of Mercs and BMW's for a reason. Heck, the Octavia (and all VAG cars) still come with the disclaimer that the DSG gearbox has a high propensity for failure.
1) Innova Crysta was built on a new platform and had new powertrains compared to previous generation Innova. It was completely different from the previous generation.

2) BMW X3 diesel: Ex showroom price Rs 64.9 lacs
Toyota Fortuner diesel AT 4x4: Rs 38.2 lacs
XUV700 AX7 AT AWD: Rs 21.09 lacs

Of course people know what they get for the price.

3) The 7OO is just the second generation XUV500 and not an all new product, leaving aside the marketing pitch.

4) If someone is averse to ADAS technology, they can always choose an AX5

5) XUV700 gets compared to Fortuners, BMWs and gets bashed while it should ideally get compared only to Harrier/Hector/Alcazar etc. At this rate, I wouldn't be surprised if someone compares XUV 700 to Ferraris and Lamborghinis and say that the 7OO is horribly underpowered and lacks the refinement of a Rolls Royce.

MOD NOTE : Please quote ONLY the relevant bits of a post. Quoting a full, long post inconveniences our mobile readers.

Last edited by Sheel : 10th October 2021 at 14:37. Reason: Mod note attached.
Geta is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 10th October 2021, 13:56   #2025

Originally Posted by Tanmay007 View Post
The luxury variant gets electric door retract and since these close inwards I was afraid what would happen if someone had they fingers inside the door handle while it retracted. Happy to report that I tried this out - placed my bike glove in-between the handles and locked the car via remote. The door handles have an almost spring like behavior where there is very little pressure. Suffice to say, no fingers will be getting hurt due to accidental locks.
Good to know this. Thanks for testing.

Originally Posted by Tanmay007 View Post
Sky-roof operation is 1 click. This is actually very irritating because the 1 click action opens the curtain as well as sun-roof. 9/10 times you'd want only the curtain to open. Opening just the curtain is a 3-step process, first you let the entire sun-roof open, then press again to close the roof and press a 3rd time to stop. I have no idea how this passed usability checks but it will be annoying especially during rains.
I breifly operated the skyroof. when you press the sunroof button, it starts with curtain and as soon as curtain is open, you can press the button again to stop the opening process and it will not continue with opening the glass roof.
telugite is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com