Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Old 23rd April 2020, 13:34   #11716

Re: Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here

Originally Posted by scorpian View Post
Adjust it as per your needs and that will be any day better then someone else doing it.
Thank you Scorpian for the motivation, I have decided to give a try before someone else doing it.

Originally Posted by Kosfactor View Post
A suitable spanner should be able to set this in place, a good DIY exercise,all the best.
Thank you Kosfactor for the points with the detailed pictures. I have checked the seating of the bulb as well as the mounting nuts. Both seem to be perfect.

Now I have found two screws, but not sure on which is the alignment screw for Scross.

This one is almost on top of the headlamp unit, I tried adjusting it a bit and there is little movement
Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here-top-below.jpg

This one is right behind the bulb The grey connector is for the headlamp leveller. I need to use a T5 bit here it seems. Is the one I should adjust for the vertical movement?
Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here-sc-2.jpg
Old 23rd April 2020, 14:26   #11717

@ Northstar - The second picture near the connector seems to be the vertical alignment screw - appears to be a lumax unit in which case a Philips head screw driver of the suitable size would be able to do it, very little force is required so no need to worry about stripping the thread off even if its not the right tool for the job.
Kosfactor is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2020, 21:53   #11718

Hello guys, I own a Hyundai Venue S DCT, and the headlamps have a quite poor spread and brightness. Can you suggest some alternatives and also can anyone throw some light on the oem size of the fixtures ?
Old 25th April 2020, 12:55   #11719

Originally Posted by Prakritij View Post
Hi Surya-TJet,
Thank you for the suggestions. Will see what I can do to improve the lighting based on your suggestions.
Also, can you please guide me how to add the additional 20A fuse for 55w bulbs you mentioned?
Hi, sorry for the delay. You don't really need any additional fuse. I meant that Ford has provided 20A fuse for LH & RH light separately. You can go ahead and get this done by yourself without any worries.
Surya-TJet is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th April 2020, 12:59   #11720

Originally Posted by indrasis_gun View Post
I am planning to fit auxiliary lights in my Swift zxi+ 2019 model. But I have one problem. My parking space has three inches in front and two inches space behind the car. So I want some suggestions for mounting process for the auxiliary lights so that the overall length of the car does not increase. Experts please help.
You can possibly try using the 3" bixenon fog projectors with HID kit. Should fit within your existing fog lamp enclosure and with 6000k HIDs; the colour temperature should match your factory Bi-LED headlamps.
Surya-TJet is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th April 2020, 13:01   #11721

Originally Posted by rajivr1612 View Post
I want to upgrade the headlights on my Aprilia SR150 scooter. Can anyone please suggest a good location in Chennai to get it done. I would prefer someone around KK Nagar, Ashok Nagar, Ramapuram area. If not then I am ready to go to GP road as well. Thanks in advance.
Hi, you can contact Motofocusz on their FB page. They do a whole host of custom modifications to vehicle headlights as per your budget and required. The owner Mr. Sathish is a very knowledgable and skilled installer. He has his office in saidapet and does installation even at your place should you require it.
Old 25th April 2020, 17:57   #11722

Originally Posted by aarnav_b View Post
Hello guys, I own a Hyundai Venue S DCT, and the headlamps have a quite poor spread and brightness. Can you suggest some alternatives and also can anyone throw some light on the oem size of the fixtures ?
You can retrofit an HID conversion kit in the stock projector in place of existing halogen bulbs. You can source an Osram kit at 35W. Better still - you can get a 55W high power HID conversion kit from MotorBasket / Blaze India (both Delhi based) post lock-down once normalcy returns.

These are plug and play fitments & don't need any wire cuts etc. The kit fits stock connectors. You can find the bulb & socket specifications of your existing setup in your car's owner's manual in a detailed table.
You can do the installation at home as a DIY project easily with minimal tools. Here is a sample installation in my car with an Osram conversion kit for reference should you need -
Link - Nexon HID conversion kit install (DIY - Tata Nexon XZ+ - Osram 35W HID conversion kit)

Last edited by Reinhard : 25th April 2020 at 17:59.
Reinhard is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th April 2020, 19:13   #11723

Originally Posted by Reinhard View Post
You can retrofit an HID conversion kit in the stock projector in place of existing halogen bulbs. You can source an Osram kit at 35W. Better still - you can get a 55W high power HID conversion kit from MotorBasket / Blaze India (both Delhi based) post lock-down once normalcy returns.
Thanks a lot for the advice. Mine is the S variant, which has the normal bulbs, and not the projectors, so will fitting Philips or Osram led bulbs be a good idea? Also, will it affect the warranty in any way?
Old 25th April 2020, 19:33   #11724

Thanks a lot for the advice. Mine is the S variant, which has the normal bulbs, and not the projectors, so will fitting Philips or Osram led bulbs be a good idea? Also, will it affect the warranty in any way?
Ah sorry I presumed you have projector low beams! If you ask my honest advise, don't waste money on LEDs in an existing reflector that is designed for halogen. You'll only have a lot of scattered white light which will be worse than your current lighting. Especially dreadful during monsoons on roads without lane marking & street lighting (common in India). I have used Philips LEDs and were utterly disappointed with them. Stick with your halogen bulbs. If you want to upgrade - install higher wattage halogen bulbs with a relay harness.

What sort of fog light housing do you have? Best upgrade for you will be 3" or 2.5" HID projector fog lights in the bumper.
Reinhard is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 25th April 2020, 21:20   #11725

Hi, you can go for bi-xenon projector retrofit along with 35w HID kit. All major car accessories shop do this. There are some lighting specialists as well who might be able to help you out with more options based on your budget.

I would advise against fitting a HID kit directly inside your stock company headlamps as the HID in a reflector is a recipe for disaster - no light spread for you and excess glare for oncoming traffic.

You can even go for Bi-LED projector retrofit if you want instant on/off for daytime passing flasher usage.
Old 25th April 2020, 21:44   #11726

Originally Posted by Surya-TJet View Post
Hi, you can go for bi-xenon projector retrofit along with 35w HID kit. All major car accessories shop do this. There are some lighting specialists as well who might be able to help you out with more options based on your budget.
Although - he is talking about a brand new car. A headlamp opening, retrofit with projectors = goodbye at least electrical warranty. Remember - its a Hyundai in question. They aren't the best when it comes to flexibility about warranty.
I would advise against fitting a HID kit directly inside your stock company headlamps as the HID in a reflector is a recipe for disaster - no light spread for you and excess glare for oncoming traffic.
This is absolutely correct. In fact its illegal to install HID bulbs without projectors.
Reinhard is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th April 2020, 22:07   #11727

Although - he is talking about a brand new car. A headlamp opening, retrofit with projectors = goodbye at least electrical warranty. Remember - its a Hyundai in question. They aren't the best when it comes to flexibility about warranty.
While the warranty is usually denied if the wires are spliced; a bixenon projector with HID can be setup without splicing wires by using socket to socket connections (with canbus cancellers) for everything and since this S variant uses a H4 setup; its even more simpler for retrofit.

When that is done; the warranty is forefeited only for the headlamp assembly and not the entire electricals. One can even contest to this.

Maybe he can verify with his SA on this regard.
Old 26th April 2020, 00:21   #11728

Ah sorry I presumed you have projector low beams! If you ask my honest advise, don't waste money on LEDs in an existing reflector that is designed for halogen. You'll only have a lot of scattered white light which will be worse than your current lighting. Especially dreadful during monsoons on roads without lane marking & street lighting (common in India). I have used Philips LEDs and were utterly disappointed with them. Stick with your halogen bulbs. If you want to upgrade - install higher wattage halogen bulbs with a relay harness.

What sort of fog light housing do you have? Best upgrade for you will be 3" or 2.5" HID projector fog lights in the bumper.
Okay, thanks a ton, I will look into better wattage halogen lamps itself and after the warranty period is over, will see towards a whole new setup.
As for the fog lamp housing, I haven't really measured them, so will also look into that and check. But aren't halogen lights better in a fog lamps rather than the white light of a HID ?
Old 26th April 2020, 00:25   #11729

Hi, you can contact Motofocusz on their FB page. They do a whole host of custom modifications to vehicle headlights as per your budget and required. The owner Mr. Sathish is a very knowledgable and skilled installer. He has his office in saidapet and does installation even at your place should you require it.
Thanks a lot ! Can you guide me as well towards a better lighting solution for the Aprilia, I stay at dombivli. The stock setup is like a candle and I tried a higher wattage Rallye bulb from Osram which didn't show any improvement, then I got a led bulb from Osram hs1 type, which is slight improvement on the stock one, but the scattering problem is there. I have seen ads for a Philips ultinon hs1 led bulb, but it's availability is very scarce and the website isn't showing that model.
Old 26th April 2020, 09:44   #11730

Thanks a lot ! Can you guide me as well towards a better lighting solution for the Aprilia, I stay at dombivli. The stock setup is like a candle and I tried a higher wattage Rallye bulb from Osram which didn't show any improvement, then I got a led bulb from Osram hs1 type, which is slight improvement on the stock one, but the scattering problem is there. I have seen ads for a Philips ultinon hs1 led bulb, but it's availability is very scarce and the website isn't showing that model.
Hi, you can checkout the setup in the video below. He has shown a detailed installation instruction. He has used standard halogen bulbs of same wattage. So; no bling but fully improved lighting. You can go for fanless LEDs as an option should you prefer more intense light.

Incase you are unsure of how to go about this; get in touch with Sainath Auto in Khar West (has been mentioned in Team-BHP directories as well). Or try to get in touch with The Automotive Lighting Experts (through their FB page).

Be sure to have atleast 5-6k budget for any worthwhile modification.

Do study in detail; list out pros & cons before putting down your money. Best of luck for your mods.