Old 12th April 2022, 15:03   #5266

Re: Mahindra XUV700 Review

Official waiting periods for different variants, as on 09/04/2022:-

Mahindra XUV700 Review-8ba8da116b774eafaffc41430459f653.jpeg

My AX5 diesel MT 7-seater shows an ETA of Feb-Mar 2023. No way am I going to wait that long. Am in the process of scouring dealerships around me in a 500-km radius for free stocks of diesel (if I get lucky!).

Last edited by RavenAvi : 12th April 2022 at 15:05.
RavenAvi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th April 2022, 15:22   #5267
sbm

Originally Posted by Tanmay007 View Post
Yes, Mahindra has a strict policy of cancellations going to the next person in line as per algorithm. I had a detailed discussion about this with my Mahindra dealer and this is what he told me:
Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post
Official waiting periods for different variants, as on 09/04/2022:-

Attachment 2295707

My AX5 diesel MT 7-seater shows an ETA of Feb-Mar 2023. No way am I going to wait that long. Am in the process of scouring dealerships around me in a 500-km radius for free stocks of diesel (if I get lucky!).
As metioned in the post by @tanmay007, dealers can't allot any free stock on their discretion. There is a process for that and controlled by M&M. If you happen to discover that there is indeed free stocks, please update.
Old 12th April 2022, 19:18   #5268

I saw one of these NCR based youtube channels in which a local BJP leader was bragging that he got his AX7 petrol vehicle in about 15 days and helped a couple of other people get within a similar time frame. (He booked in late december and got by mid Jan)

Not sure how much truth there is in his claim, but I wouldn't be surprised if it is true.

There are bound to be some crooked people in the company and in every dealership who would have figured out a way to do an end-run around the rules.
Old 12th April 2022, 19:42   #5269

Originally Posted by yogishkamath View Post
I saw one of these NCR based Youtube channels in which a local BJP leader was bragging that he got his AX7 petrol vehicle in about 15 days and helped a couple of other people get within a similar time frame. (He booked in late december and got by mid Jan)

Not sure how much truth there is in his claim, but I wouldn't be surprised if it is true.

There are bound to be some crooked people in the company and in every dealership who would have figured out a way to do an end-run around the rules.
Not just that. You can speak to higher-ups in the management and get your delivery faster. i have seen people who did that . plus their is VIP treatment also where people in media/politics etc are getting it faster. To be honest, it doesn't surprise me
Old 12th April 2022, 21:26   #5270

I have it on good authority that if you have a corporate relationship with Mahindra, they can bump you up internally. I've seen at least 3 people with corporate ties to Mahindra get their deliveries moved up. I think this happens in every product/field and nothing to feel unfair about. Building relationships will always have its perks.

Last edited by Tanmay007 : 12th April 2022 at 21:29.
Tanmay007 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th April 2022, 21:27   #5271

My first niggle! My car is less than a month old, has run about 1k kms. While driving this morning, suddenly the screen became this. An immediate restart didn't help, but a 30mins break for lunch did the trick. It seems to be working fine after that.

Anybody has faced similar issue? Will be going to the service center sometime this week, but wanted to check here first as generally folks here are more upto date on the niggles than folks at M&M

If anybody has a clue, please help! TIA.
Mahindra XUV700 Review-img20220412wa0006.jpg  

shifu is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 12th April 2022, 22:17   #5272

Originally Posted by shifu View Post
While driving this morning, suddenly the screen became this. An immediate restart didn't help, but a 30mins break for lunch did the trick.
I've seen several people over on FB groups face screen related issues. These seem to have resolved with software update. Are you on the latest update?

As for a workaround, you need a hard reboot of the infotainment system, the fastest way to do that is disconnect the battery for about 5 mins and connect it back.
Tanmay007 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th April 2022, 22:31   #5273

Originally Posted by Tanmay007 View Post
I've seen several people over on FB groups face screen related issues. These seem to have resolved with software update. Are you on the latest update?
There is a lot of misinformation floating in social media/fb. It's difficult to figure out if the information is trustworthy. Everyone wants to sensationalize and become an "influencer". But if you find a relevant thread where this issue was fixed, kindly DM me.

I must be on the latest software as of 15 Mar. That is when it was updated.
Old 13th April 2022, 15:01   #5274

Originally Posted by nasir88 View Post

However, while rusting of bolts and screws is common, this week I noticed that rusting has started to come extensively on the rear mahindra logo and "700" emblem.
Hi Everyone,

I wanted to update on the logo rusting issue as it has been fully resolved now. Mahindra were kind enough to follow up on this issue and send someone from their plant specifically to inspect it.

They have changed the "XUV700" and variant logos and the the rear "M" logo was able to be cleaned using soap and mild sandpaper. While the probable cause is still not known, and I have not used any specific cleaning agents, the Mahindra rep said that they could be attributable to hard water in my area. They also advised to make sure the logos are dried out with a dry cloth so that any residue does not form that could lead to corrosion.

While a bit of mystery still remains about how the issue occurred, I think it was an overall pleasant experience considering some issues are expected in every new car, but Mahindra has been trying to resolve them promptly. Based on my previous experience with manufacturers like Honda and (especially) Hyundai before, I think Mahindra is doing very well.
nasir88 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 13th April 2022, 15:29   #5275

This must be the strangest question on this thread, but I will try anyway.

I have booked the AX7L Petrol Automatic. Expected delivery is Dec-2023.

But looks like I may have to cancel, not due to the waiting period, but my family found the third row very claustrophobic.

The space in second row is too much, and a sliding seat would have worked wonders. But the smart engineers at Mahindra thought other wise. They decided that second row occupants should have more than adequate space, the third row occupants be damned.

So, my question is, does anyone think, we can do an after market jugaad to move the second row seat couple of inches ahead? Say, like remove the current seat, make a couple of new holes on the seat frame (not chasis) and fit the seat back?

If this is not possible, I will have to sadly cancel the booking and go for the Alcazar (yes, it's 3rd row is better than 700) or the Carens (third row is awesome).
Old 13th April 2022, 19:23   #5276

Originally Posted by Bh.P View Post
So, my question is, does anyone think, we can do an after market jugaad to move the second row seat couple of inches ahead? Say, like remove the current seat, make a couple of new holes on the seat frame (not chasis) and fit the seat back?
If you just want the seats to be moved forward and don't want the sliding mechanism, should be relatively easy but if you need sliding mechanism it is going to be a pain in the wrong place.

You will need a fabricator who knows what he is doing ,Money,effort and time. After all this also you will not know if it will be accurate.

I have explored this (sliding middle row seats) for my Xuv500, plan is still on but execution is stuck because of various reasons (Innova or Fortuner seats/ 6mm bar for fixing the sliding rail, the hooks where seat sits when you tumble it (this is a bottle neck as you would need to drill holes in the chassis for adjustments) etc)

When you know what your requirement is, Why do you want to spend Money on a product that does not meet it ? Would suggest you to please drop 700 from your list.

Last edited by zaveed : 13th April 2022 at 19:27. Reason: More Details added
zaveed is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th April 2022, 22:14   #5277

Originally Posted by shifu View Post
There is a lot of misinformation floating in social media/fb. It's difficult to figure out if the information is trustworthy. Everyone wants to sensationalize and become an "influencer". But if you find a relevant thread where this issue was fixed, kindly DM me.

I must be on the latest software as of 15 Mar. That is when it was updated.
Guys

Don’t worry enjoy your XUV700.

There are issues and I think it will continue to be there. Though none of them are major and we can live with it till Mahindra gives a permanent fix. Most of the issues I have noticed are software glitches and Mahindra’s service advisors or CoTek does know head or tail of it.

Following are the issues that I have highlighted within a month of ownership and only the first four of them are resolved.

- [ ] Infotainment issue - System blackout on day 1
- [ ] Music playing in radio at loud volume at ignition on
- [ ] Music player displaying different track poster for most songs
- [ ] Sunshade (rolloshade)was open twice when the vehicle was in locked condition
- [ ] Break pad noise while releasing brake from standstill
- [ ] AdrenoX app not displaying metrics of trip
- [ ] AdrenoX app displays different places of parking
- [ ] AdrenoX app throws false door open notification for while Driving
- [ ] AdrenoX app displays false notifications such as lights on and doors open even after locked.
- [ ] AdrenoX app logging out on its own often
- [ ] Drive mode not popping up at time when switched on from dedicated switch
- [ ] Key did not come out on two occasions even after the vehicle was in P mode

Believe me the infotainment system blackout happened on day 1 right after performing Pooja for the vehicle. Since I was expecting niggles in the fresh product I did not get any shock. Called up the dealer immediately and they said they can pick up the vehicle the next day morning to sort out the issue. I didn’t want some random drivers to abuse the vehicle hence decided to go to service centre myself but the issue got sorted on its own in 30 minutes. Updated the software only in the first service and most recently updated the software with Android auto update.

But for this and few others as listed above it has been a great experience owning this vehicle. Kudos to Mahindra for all their efforts. I am little disappointed with the product packaging especially the AX5 variant but the mechanicals are very good and I will give a thumping 9/10 for this beast.

Attaching a pic of the infotainment system blackout. Get your software updated and have fun with your beast.

Last edited by zeus_700 : 13th April 2022 at 22:28.
zeus_700 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 13th April 2022, 22:30   #5278

Originally Posted by zaveed View Post
If you just want the seats to be moved forward and don't want the sliding mechanism, should be relatively easy but if you need sliding mechanism it is going to be a pain in the wrong place.

You will need a fabricator who knows what he is doing ,Money,effort and time. After all this also you will not know if it will be accurate.
Yes, my thought is to just move the middle row seat forward, and no sliding mechanism.

Originally Posted by zaveed View Post
When you know what your requirement is, Why do you want to spend Money on a product that does not meet it ? Would suggest you to please drop 700 from your list.
There are lot of other reasons why I would prefer the 700 over others (structural rigidity being the main among them). But that will mean I compromise on the family's comfort during every ride. Sadly, it is a comfort vs safety decision. Another reason is this car has all the features which will not make me feel like having a outdated car in a few years. I keep my cars for a long time.
Bh.P is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th April 2022, 22:30   #5279

Originally Posted by nasir88 View Post
Hi Everyone,

While the probable cause is still not known, and I have not used any specific cleaning agents, the Mahindra rep said that they could be attributable to hard water in my area. They also advised to make sure the logos are dried out with a dry cloth so that any residue does not form that could lead to corrosion.
Classic excuses for poor product quality. Vehicles are built to last in heavy rains, blazing summer heat and sandstorms, but cannot tolerate hard water?
Mustang Sammy is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 14th April 2022, 09:37   #5280

Birdie from plant tweets that Mahindra might introduce a new top variant (AX9?) of the 7OO next year with some more goodies - ventilated seats, auto-dimming IRVM, a Heads-Up Display and an LED cabin lamp for the 3rd row.

There will also be a 6-seater option on the cards, specific to the new top variant only.

Also, the 2022 Scorpio launch might see the silent axing of the MX variants from the 7OO's lineup after a few months. The revised 2023 lineup might see the AX3 as the new base model.
RavenAvi is offline   (13) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com