Old 6th July 2023, 12:42   #8686

Re: Mahindra XUV700 Review

Originally Posted by faithless_1984 View Post
Hi team, iv had the car for almost 8 months now and ill share my ownership experience (with many ups and down) soon but right now i am trying to find a way to get our 2nd key.

My tryst with XUV700 AX7L AWD started in August 2021 when I booked(50K booking amount) as soon it was launched and before pricing of course, mind you official booking had not started. Thread (Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs).

When the pricing was announced, the dealer (Kochi based)confirmed to me that, I'm eligible for initial delivery and to confirm my booking. But I backed out, didn't ask for the refund but told him to keep booking at abeyance. Then by April 2022, told the dealer to refund the amount.

I sold my 2012 XUV500 in the month of April 2022 and thought would take a break from owning big vehicles for 3 years. By October 2022 the itch was literally off the charts as had only the Honda Brio at my disposal. So went ahead and short-listed Kia Carens & XUV. Booked both as the waiting period was sky-high. Really liked the Carens, particularly the 3rd row. Would say it is more comfortable than XUV for 3rd row passengers. But my co-brother was totally against it due to 3-star rating, particularly what irked him most was this quote "The bodyshell and footwell area were rated as unstable" Source

This time the Mahindra dealer was different and knew him personally, and he connected me to his GM who told me he would give me delivery by 2nd week of November 2022. This time the booking amount was 21K. But that was not to be, as AWD variants allotment was pretty scarce. I got fed up, frustration was sky high, so told him to cancel my booking and refund back the amount in 1st week of December 2022 which was duly done. Surprise surprise, in the 1st week of January 2023, I got a call from the dealer that a vehicle, January 2023 manufactured is in transit and told me to pay the booking amount. He gave me the VIN and other details. I immediately verified the VIN and yes it is January 2023 manufactured, paid the booking amount then and there. 7 days later the vehicle arrived at the yard, did the PDI with my co-brother @kozhissery, and gave the full payment. Then the waiting started. It is pathetic in Kerala RTO, everything moves at a snail's pace, but the tax collected is the highest in the country. Finally took the delivery on 31st Jan 2023 with both the keys.

Only sequential indicators were missing which were delivered after escalation with CRM, Dealer GM, and of course tweet to Anand Mahindra and customer care. Got a call the next day from customer care and arranged concall with CRM. The lady there was particularly helpful and in due course got the sequential indicators in the month of April. Whole in whole, pretty satisfied with the experience till now. Fingers crossed. Yes as with every other XUV7OO mates, slightly irritated with the Infotainment fiasco. Hope they solve this.

In hindsight, if I had taken the delivery in Oct 2021 would have saved cool ~ 2.5 lakhs, but as GTO & others say it is better to buy a Mahindra vehicle after 1 year of its launch.

Also, please note they have increased the prices further and with God's own country's ridiculous tax system ( Karnataka, we have beat you there )

Hell, it now costs more than 1.25 lakh than Jan 2023 prices.
Vasuki is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th July 2023, 17:59   #8687

Originally Posted by Vasuki View Post

Also, please note they have increased the prices further and with God's own country's ridiculous tax system ( Karnataka, we have beat you there )

Hell, it now costs more than 1.25 lakh than Jan 2023 prices.
Totally agree with this, the insane taxes plus increased prices are a nuisance. When I booked the car in December 2021, the on-road price in Bangalore was 25.86 lakhs, but at delivery in August 22, it was 27 lakhs and now it's 29 lakhs, a huge difference in price without any feature additions.
yuvmudapa is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 6th July 2023, 21:12   #8688

Hi all, I have an 'out-of-the-usual' query here. Does anyone possess a wiring diagram of the ICE control unit (aka, the silver box) of XUV700?

Asking since the only input to this box on the console is the USB slot. I want to check if you can connect an RCA cable via line input as well? This would (I assume) allow you to bye-pass the silver box DAC and feed your own music signal.

TiA.
dust-n-bones is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th July 2023, 23:51   #8689
sbm

Originally Posted by dust-n-bones View Post
Hi all, I have an 'out-of-the-usual' query here. Does anyone possess a wiring diagram of the ICE control unit (aka, the silver box) of XUV700?

Asking since the only input to this box on the console is the USB slot. I want to check if you can connect an RCA cable via line input as well? This would (I assume) allow you to bye-pass the silver box DAC and feed your own music signal.

TiA.
I would strongly suggest you not fiddle with the silver box. There have been numerous instances where it got bricked due to various reasons, such as moisture and software flashing. The rest is your choice.
sbm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th July 2023, 07:58   #8690

Well.. For those interested in the XUV700's AWD capability, here are some photos.. treat yourselves!

Mahindra XUV700 Review-snapinsta.app_358780826_180372545015456_1525729710420260883_n_1080.jpg

Mahindra XUV700 Review-snapinsta.app_358085466_812833653525668_2526863648209616086_n_1080.jpg

Mahindra XUV700 Review-snapinsta.app_358115977_6165582136885875_7018181994314723819_n_1080.jpg

Mahindra XUV700 Review-img_2438.jpg
dhanushs is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 7th July 2023, 08:51   #8691

Hello..

Quick question.. As I understand, the XUV700 middle row doesn't slide forward or backwards.. has anyone tried any after market or service center based modification to this - to change the rails and put slideable rails? Any recommendations of the dealer or shop which can do this reliably? Does this mod affect the warranty?

Thank you very much!!!
vikramv4u is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th July 2023, 11:57   #8692

Originally Posted by dhanushs View Post
Well.. For those interested in the XUV700's AWD capability, here are some photos.. treat yourselves!
Is this Mahindra SUV Proving Track ?
Read a thread about the ScorpioN performing at MSPT, Cheyyar SIPCOT Industrial Area.
Link - https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-e...ml#post5574529 (Back to the fundamentals | 4XPloring at Mahindra SUV Proving Track, TN)

Pictures look very similar.

The pictures are indeed inspiring and gives a lot of confidence to the AWD owners. Thanks.

Last edited by Sommos : 7th July 2023 at 11:59.
Sommos is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th July 2023, 17:38   #8693

A quick question and looking for a quick answer: Has anyone here received their AX5 Petrol E variant delivered?
My SA had earlier promised delivery in Aug but is now claiming that M&M have not started production of any AX5 Petrol E variants yet, and the delivery is now scheduled only for next March!!
Feeling kind of cheated by the false promises - I had specifically checked this multiple times with him before moving my booking from ScoropioN Z6 to XUV700 AX5 Petrol E.

Not sure what my options are here but I wanted to first of all check the veracity of what the SA is telling me.

If indeed true, what other options do I have? Can move to Diesel AX5 but due to relatively low running, I wasnt keen on Diesel. Not to mention the unnecessary headaches with DPF clogging etc, which will be a pain for my parents, who are the primary users and non-drivers at that.

Any help/thoughts/advice would be much appreciated? Thanks
Old 7th July 2023, 22:56   #8694

Originally Posted by sbm View Post
I too had my AX5's lower control arms changed a few months ago. Initially, I too felt that the sound was reduced significantly, but later, I have been facing a strange issue. Ever since the arms were replaced, I feel that the suspension has become stiffer than before. I can now feel every small variation in the road surface, and the ride has become very bumpy. I have complained about this to Mahindra, and they have asked to install a fresh set of control arms and then observe.
Hello Sbm,
Mine is AX5 too. It is a P MT. Glad to find another AX5 buddy here in the Team-Bhp.

Bumpy/Floaty Ride:
- I had the same feeling of a bumpy/floaty ride. What powertrain is yours?

- Not sure what went well with the recent service, the ASC (CAI Coimbatore) has done a pretty decent job of containing it. I assume it is the tyre rotation that has fixed this issue. And I am maintaining 28psi with 1-3 passengers, 30psi if 3-5passengers, 33psi if 5 passengers with full boot load/7 passengers. Please note, these are the tyre pressures I have maintained during the summer days. Our WhatsApp mate Vinod Anna helped me in arriving at these figures with a few trial runs that I had with RUDRA.

- Suspension Noise & LCA replacement:
** B/w I was the one who initiated the mass feedback to M&M regarding the Suspension Noise (Sorry, I could not recognize you because of your shorter name in Team-Bhp if you are one among those who filled out the Google form I shared in FB/WhatsApp).
** I am still keeping my fingers crossed and letting RUDRA munch more miles before I comment on the LCA replacement. After the LCA replacement, I do feel there is a slight firmness in the suspension though. Also, I do suspect that this is because of MRF Wanderers which are known to become slightly harder when it ages.

And do check the post to my ownership experience of AX5 P MT AKA RUDRA here (Mahindra XUV700 (aka Rudra) Initial Ownership Report | Journey from an Eon to the XUV700)

Originally Posted by wadewilson View Post
Since we don't have a separate niggles thread exclusively for the XUV700, I am posting a few niggles I faced here (a rant if you will). The car has been driven close to 30,000 kms now and it's been a year and four months since we got it.
Hello Buddie,

That's quite a big list of disappointments. I am sure anybody who spent 25L+ won't expect such disappointments in the machines they love & own.

Don't be worried buddy. Most of what you mentioned can be fixed. Post which, I can assure you will have a great time with the beast.

And here is my take:

I am on the latest version of the SW update released by Mahindra. I am not facing that many issues on the side of Body Electronics, except the infamous Wireless AA/CP. Do check out if you are on the latest patch.

1. Car won't unlock with the keyfob - This needs a check with ASC, which could be likely due to issues with the update on the second key programming. Maybe a flash in the system is required to fix this (Ah!! You might need to leave your 700 in ASC and go for a vacation though!! a longggg processsssss, takes usually at least half a day to complete it)

2. Tearing speakers -
--Try this, a. Disconnect the negative terminal, b. Press the brakes for 10-15secs, c. Reconnect the battery, d. Turn the ignition ON, e. Click on settings multiple times, f. Now you will be in the engineering mode, look for Cache, and clear them. g. Turn off the engine, h. Restart it after a few mins, i. You might hear the crackling speakers for a few mins after that it will most likely get fixed.

I am not sure if that's an orthodox measure of fixing it, fortunately, one of our WhatsApp group members suggested this. Yeah, I fixed it and saved the journey to the ASC for another day.

IF NOT, A SW Flash, if still a negative then speakers replacement is what you need to look for. (ofcourse, under warranty)

3. Blank Screens - Do check with ASC, if your car is a part of the Silverbox replacement/recall program, if so, go ahead and replace it. Among the most popular is the Netflix Screen issue, glad that you are not one among them facing it (again can be fixed only by SW update)

4. Wireless AA & CP: That's a never-ending story . Wish M&M fixes this soon with a SW without messing up other things. I am somehow managing with Wired CarPlay. And CarPlay takes to another level of frequent disconnection even if you are Mr. Anand Mahindra. I understand most OEMs are facing this trouble though.

5. Passenger Side Power Window
+
6. Coolant Pipe burst - Both seem something new that none has reported so far. But I do know that there is a recall for the Coolant O-Ring that is initiated from Mahindra's side.

7. Dug Dug Sound - Ideally after LCA replacement it should have been arrested. Based on what you say, I highly doubt if they have retorqued it enough. Do check the same and confirm it.

Hope the above helps you. Do keep the thread updated about it and your experiences with XUV.

Last edited by libranof1987 : 8th July 2023 at 09:57. Reason: Merging back-to-back posts. Kindly use the Edit/Quote+ functionality to quote multiple posts.
rudra_shiv is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th July 2023, 23:26   #8695

Originally Posted by Vasuki View Post
The day before yesterday, I was trying out Advanced emergency braking system (AEBS) & Adaptive cruise control (ACC) on a single-lane road. Traffic was below normal due to rainy conditions. I triggered the ACC while following a motorcycle.

ACC was set at 47Kmph and it was working like a charm.

A few points were noticed.

1, It went down automatically to the low speed of 6kmph.

2, A scenario rose where the motorcycle overtook another two-wheeler and so XUV7OO got too close to the two-wheeler which was not comfortable per se, and I applied the brakes & switched off AEBS.

3, A pothole/bump detection would be more preferable in our conditions.
ACC in AX7L will bring the car to complete stop and continue to after you press accelerator. The only problem is it keeps detecting bikes in other lanes and cars and heavy vehicles in other lanes during turns. The software doesn’t seem to eliminate this using the lane data from the ADAS camera. I keep the AEBS on all the time. Early setting for first 1000kms and now in Normal, and I have just completed 4000kms. It works like a charm and prevented a collision once. My suggestion is to keep AEBS on all the time and to use ACC on highways. But I sorely miss a normal cruise control, there should have been an option. The shortest distance setting maintained by ACC is enough for someone to sneak in. Totally agree on point three and they should get this tech for India, I wondered the same. I had bottomed out my suspension several times.
FlyboyQP is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th July 2023, 02:11   #8696
sbm

Originally Posted by rudra_shiv View Post
Hello Sbm,
Mine is AX5 too. It is a P MT. Glad to find another AX5 buddy here in the Team-Bhp.

Bumpy/Floaty Ride:
- I had the same feeling of a bumpy/floaty ride. What powertrain is yours?

- Not sure what went well with the recent service, the ASC (CAI Coimbatore) has done a pretty decent job of containing it. I assume it is the tyre rotation that has fixed this issue. And I am maintaining 28psi with 1-3 passengers, 30psi if 3-5passengers, 33psi if 5 passengers with full boot load/7 passengers. Please note, these are the tyre pressures I have maintained during the summer days. Our WhatsApp mate Vinod Anna helped me in arriving at these figures with a few trial runs that I had with RUDRA.

- Suspension Noise & LCA replacement:
** B/w I was the one who initiated the mass feedback to M&M regarding the Suspension Noise (Sorry, I could not recognize you because of your shorter name in Team-Bhp if you are one among those who filled out the Google form I shared in FB/WhatsApp).
** I am still keeping my fingers crossed and letting RUDRA munch more miles before I comment on the LCA replacement. After the LCA replacement, I do feel there is a slight firmness in the suspension though. Also, I do suspect that this is because of MRF Wanderers which are known to become slightly harder when it ages.

And do check the post to my ownership experience of AX5 P MT AKA RUDRA here (Mahindra XUV700 (aka Rudra) Initial Ownership Report | Journey from an Eon to the XUV700)
Hi. First of all, thanks for taking the initiative to raise the issue with M&M in the WhatsApp group. My car is an AX5 DMT. Regarding the suspension bumpiness or floatiness, nothing was working for me. Even at 28 psi, the ride was so bumpy. I mentioned this to a non-enthusiastic friend, and he suggested filling all tyres with nitrogen as he had the same issue in his Baleno, which got rectified after this. I did exactly that, deflating all tyres to zero and filling them with nitrogen, and voila, the bumpiness was gone, even at 32psi.I don't know what happened, but I was really relieved. I would have posted this solution on the thread, but I am still trying to figure out how the issue actually got resolved after N2 filling. Maybe the new bushes have finally loosened up, but I am sure I felt a drastic change in ride quality just after the N2 filling.
One thing to note in my case is that at the time of the control arm replacement, they also replaced all four alloys due to an unrelated issue and might have filled up air instead of the N2 that might have been originally filled up.
I suggest you try this once. Even if you already have N2, try deflating and inflating again. Sometimes, the problem is much smaller and the solution is much more obvious.
sbm is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th July 2023, 13:17   #8697

Originally Posted by Sommos View Post
Tweet your ordeal to Mr. Anand Mahindra - you'll receive your response soon.

I received my second key within four months. Enquire if the dealer/ ASC has un-allocated dockets of the second key fob and check personally if your docket is there. You'll need the key code/ last 6 digits of VIN/ customer code to located your key fob.
I sent a strong email to the customer care id with a link to my post and forwarded the same mail to their boss Asha Kharga. I think that did the trick, they called me to come and get the key configured and collect it which i did today. Finally this ordeal is over ,one thing iv learned is that Mahindra needs LOTS of pushing if you want them to do their work. I will share my total ownership experience soon which is a real doozy.
Old 8th July 2023, 17:00   #8698

There is a new firmware/ software update for 7OO now. It’s 10.27.61/ 10.27.62.

It primarily overhauls the mapples support for offline maps and navigation software along with android auto related some fixes and general stability/ bug fixes. The Map UI seems like changed drastically and is much more usable than before. This I think is a huge step that will make most owners rethink their subscription renewal for Adrenox and live maps update. Good thoughtful move to hold onto the recurring revenue as well as continuous bug-fixes and stability improvements on ICE by M&M.

Has anyone tried this on their cars yet? I am out of town currently and may get this early next week - just looking for some advice if this is stable enough to dive-in, and this needs “one more visit” to the ASC which probably can be avoided if the update isn't stable enough to try!

The Suzuki (Nexa cars) do such updates through their portal - owner can download the package file from their site on a USB drive and do these updates themselves whereas for M&M we would need to visit ASC and this would possibly take an hour or two! (not considering the ASCs are already overloaded with lakh+ 7OOs across country???)
abirnale is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 8th July 2023, 17:17   #8699

The next AdrenoX software version will address these issues, as per a trusty birdie:-

- both IS & IC screens getting intermittently Blank,
- Infotainment hanging up and rebooting (Android),
- In-Vehicle Infotainment (IVI) hanging up at Disclaimer screen,
- IVI & IC time display mismatch,
- IVI & IC both going blank and software version showing as "0.0.0",
- AAP wired connection automatically disconnecting randomly,
- "Internal Memory Full - Delete contents" error,
- USB source not playing automatically after waking up from deep sleep,
- GPS latching issues,
- Connected Apps version 3.6.11 update for fixes to the "App crash" issues when combined with MAPPLS Auto,
- Alexa patch for the response "Something went wrong & internet is not reachable", despite internet connectivity being good.
RavenAvi is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 8th July 2023, 17:52   #8700

Originally Posted by Sommos View Post
I have been told that a software update (new version) is slated for release very soon - maybe this month or the next. Hopefully most of the issues should be sorted out in the next update.
Originally Posted by abirnale View Post
There is a new firmware/ software update for 7OO now. It’s 10.27.61/ 10.27.62.
Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post
The next AdrenoX software version will address these issues, as per a trusty birdie:-

- both IS & IC screens getting intermittently Blank,
- Infotainment hanging up and rebooting (Android),
- In-Vehicle Infotainment (IVI) hanging up at Disclaimer screen,
- IVI & IC time display mismatch,
- IVI & IC both going blank and software version showing as "0.0.0",
- AAP wired connection automatically disconnecting randomly,
- "Internal Memory Full - Delete contents" error,
- USB source not playing automatically after waking up from deep sleep,
- GPS latching issues,
- Connected Apps version 3.6.11 update for fixes to the "App crash" issues when combined with MAPPLS Auto,
- Alexa patch for the response "Something went wrong & internet is not reachable", despite internet connectivity being good.
I was already informed by the regional office - Bubaneshwar of the up-coming software version and was told to wait till mid of July. My car is now almost touching 20K and I intend to get the servicing done very soon. Will get the new software version updated then.

Originally Posted by faithless_1984 View Post
I sent a strong email to the customer care id with a link to my post and forwarded the same mail to their boss Asha Kharga. I think that did the trick, they called me to come and get the key configured and collect it which i did today.
I agree with you on this 100%. With M&M you need to make some noise. From your post it appears that the keyfob was already with the dealer/ SC.

During the plant visit the CRM team confirmed that they receive multiple complains against dealer mistreatment from smaller towns i.e. tier-2 and 3 cities. Metros have multiple dealers, cutting into each others sales figures and there the things are a bit smooth.
Sommos is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com