Old 7th September 2011, 16:55   #1246

Re: GM India to review auto prices in Sept2011

"due to rising input costs" - one reason that really pinches hard.

Wasn't it just last year or so that prices were revised?

I guess manufacturers would also have to make up for all the freebies and discounts that have been flowing since quite some time.
Old 7th September 2011, 16:57   #1247

Re: Toyota to raise prices by 1.5-2 pct in India from 1st Oct2011

Bad move in an already depressed market, or maybe they raise prices and then give discounts. I am sure these guys read market movements and sentiments but get surprised when moves such as these are announced.

Especially bad as i am considering a Toyota product seriously and buying it will surely pinch me more and i dont see myself making a decision before October. Also surprisingly Toyota does not give a price grantee when you book (Which i think should be the norm).

Last edited by mayankjha1806 : 7th September 2011 at 16:58.
Old 7th September 2011, 16:58   #1248

re: The "NEW" Car Price Check Thread - Track Price Changes, Discounts, Offers & Deals

Originally Posted by bluevolt View Post
Get a City for just 9999 INR per month.
@bluevolt,
Any further information available on this?
Is this the final 'squeeze' being applied on the current model before the facelift?
Old 7th September 2011, 16:59   #1249

Toyota increases its prices too soon too often! This is when most of there vehicles are low on gadgets and goodies compared to the segments other offerings. Please stop doing a "Honda" on us consumers.
Old 7th September 2011, 17:01   #1250

Guess, most maufacturers will follow with price hikes.

Toyota to increase prices by 2% from Oct-11

Toyota to hike vehicle prices by 2 per cent from October 1 | WheelsUnplugged

Old 7th September 2011, 17:04   #1251

Not a very wise move. The market is already depressing with high interest rates and rising fuel prices. Now, with rise in the vehicle price will surely put off potential buyers.
Had'nt Toyota increased prices on their vehicles in the recent past? Seems they following their Jap counterparts - Honda.
Old 7th September 2011, 17:07   #1252

Damn, time to book i10 and Brio just to be on safer side.
I hope booking now will not have affect from price hike in Oct.
Old 7th September 2011, 17:13   #1253

Companies are announcing price hike and I was expecting discounts and offers during Puja
Old 7th September 2011, 17:16   #1254

Originally Posted by acroback View Post
Damn, time to book i10 and Brio just to be on safer side.
I hope booking now will not have affect from price hike in Oct.
Even if you book now, wouldn't the invoice be made for the prevalent price at the time of delivery?

The dealer will conveniently adjust the price rise. Nothing is free!

Originally Posted by ashis89 View Post
Companies are announcing price hike and I was expecting discounts and offers during Puja
Guess they'll come in the form of freebies like accessories etc.
Old 7th September 2011, 17:17   #1255

Seems Toyota wants to climb UP the path that Honda has just climbed DOWN. Wrong move made at an equally wrong time.
Old 7th September 2011, 18:24   #1256

re: The "NEW" Car Price Check Thread - Track Price Changes, Discounts, Offers & Deals

Originally Posted by ajay_satpute View Post
Results of a time-killing activity on a Friday:

Petrol hatch-backs in India:

(Prices are OTR Pune)
  1. Indica Vista 65HP GVX: 5.60 lacs
  2. Beat LT Optional: 5.60 lacs
  3. Punto 1.2 Emotion: 5.70 lacs
  4. Ritz ZXi: 5.80 lacs
  5. Swift ZXi: 6.15 lacs
  6. Micra XV: 6.15 lacs
  7. Fabia Elegance: 6.60 lacs
  8. i20 Asta: 6.70 lacs
  9. Polo Highline: 6.80 lacs
  10. Indica Vista 90HP GZX: 6.80 lacs
  11. Punto 1.4 Emotion Pack: 6.80 lacs
  12. Jazz X: 6.90 lacs
My list in search for a basic diesel hatchback with PS
Beat Ps 429000/-
Vista Ls Tdi 429000/-
Indica eV2 435000/-
Figo Lxi 459500/-
Vista LS QJD 479000/-
Ritz Ldi 492000/-
swift ldi 517000/-
Punto Active 517000/
Micra XV 569000/-

These are ex showroom prices of Delhi,
My observation based on my need of a basic diesel car 90% city, only me and my wife. daily running of around 40kms in city, driven rarely by me or by my wife as we have a driver.
Beat in Basic is good VFM and cheapest as I have not known TDi engined Vista much so I rule it out
Vista QJD does not have much advantage compared to ritz as difference is just 13k and when u compare resale after 5 yrs it comes as costly to own.Micra does not have a basic PS varient.
drsnt is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th September 2011, 19:09   #1257

They have increased the price of Innova by over a lakh in the last one year! Still it sells with a waiting period of 3 months and more. So why should they refrain from increasing the price? Even the price of Altis has increased significantly over the last year. There has to be a worthy competitor for these cars, otherwise they simply keep increasing the price. Civic upgrade is long overdue, and now Altis has comfortably crossed Civic sales figures.
Old 7th September 2011, 19:22   #1258

What really concerns me is that even if I have Rs. 12.5 Lac at my disposal, I still won't get ABS and Airbag for a vehicle of this size. For V version I have to stretch my budget to 13.7 Lacs.

We have only 2 vehicles at present competing in this category are Xylo and Innova. One has to pay 30 %- 35% if one wants a better plastic, more refined engine and brand name.
Old 7th September 2011, 19:29   #1259

Originally Posted by manojmis View Post
@bluevolt,
Any further information available on this?
Is this the final 'squeeze' being applied on the current model before the facelift?
Hi manoj,

This EMI scheme is valid for a loan amount of five lacs and tenure of 5 years. You can surely get some other discounts as well as this is not directly a cash discount.
Old 7th September 2011, 19:54   #1260

Keep increasing the prices and keep pushing bare bones car models in the name of "India Specific" cars. Sweet.

Toyota big successes were in taxi sector, namely Qualis and Innova.

Bring the same attitude to the consumer car market at your own peril Toyota.