Old 10th November 2018, 18:35   #11311

Originally Posted by BlueMotionBrain View Post
Greetings Folks,
Niel
If you are willing to spend 15k on the 4 led bulbs then its much better to just upgrade the low beam housing with a pair of bixenon projectors. Projectors will give a very nice even spread of light that has a much wider beam as well. You can then keep the high beam stock as well and it will give superior lighting at a lesser cost than the 4 led bulbs. This should cost under 10k even by using the best quality projectors and HID kit. The fog lamp link is unclickable as it has become a emoji.

Last edited by theMAG : 11th November 2018 at 01:04. Reason: Quoted content trimmed for readability
Mr. Nobody is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th November 2018, 18:45   #11312

Re: Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here

Originally Posted by Mr. Nobody View Post
If you are willing to spend 15k on the 4 led bulbs then its much better to just upgrade the low beam housing with a pair of bixenon projectors. Projectors will give a very nice even spread of light that has a much wider beam as well. You can then keep the high beam stock as well and it will give superior lighting at a lesser cost than the 4 led bulbs. This should cost under 10k even by using the best quality projectors and HID kit. The fog lamp link is unclickable as it has become a emoji.

Deeply appreciate your inputs. I was actually looking at upgrading mainly for the cosmetic bump and better visibility for city driving. I am not much inclined towards upgrading to a projector setup at the moment.

Below is the link of the LEDs i was looking at on Aliexpress

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/HLXG...30363727.html?

Awaiting your inputs.

Niel
Old 10th November 2018, 20:21   #11313

Deeply appreciate your inputs. I was actually looking at upgrading mainly for the cosmetic bump and better visibility for city driving. I am not much inclined towards upgrading to a projector setup at the moment.

Below is the link of the LEDs i was looking at on Aliexpress

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/HLXG...30363727.html?

Awaiting your inputs.

Niel
Don't projectors look way better cosmetically as you can choose different shrouds as well as get that blacked out look in the reflectors? I would still suggest just getting a pair of Bi-Xenon projectors added as they will outperform LEDs and city use requires a better wide beam to illuminate the sides of the road better to see the jaywalker and animals on roads. Anyway the philips LEDs are fine, i would first try upgrading just the low beams to LEDs and if the light output is fine then replace the High beams with Nightbreaker series halogen ones to get a similar whitish color. Do note these LEDs MAY cause glare. You can also order a set of LED position lamps for the complete white light look.

The fog lamp bulbs are fine and i myself am ordering a different type tomorrow from same store. Just ensure you have space behind the fog lamp assemply as these will stick out to accomodate the fan and heatsink.
Old 10th November 2018, 20:49   #11314

Don't projectors look way better cosmetically as you can choose different shrouds as well as get that blacked out look in the reflectors? I would still suggest just getting a pair of Bi-Xenon projectors added as they will outperform LEDs and city use requires a better wide beam to illuminate the sides of the road better to see the jaywalker and animals on roads. Anyway the philips LEDs are fine, i would first try upgrading just the low beams to LEDs and if the light output is fine then replace the High beams with Nightbreaker series halogen ones to get a similar whitish color. Do note these LEDs MAY cause glare. You can also order a set of LED position lamps for the complete white light look.

The fog lamp bulbs are fine and i myself am ordering a different type tomorrow from same store. Just ensure you have space behind the fog lamp assemply as these will stick out to accomodate the fan and heatsink.

Thank you for your quick revert. I was thinking of just upgrading all the bulbs to LED and not a halogen led blend as the all led described setup fits my budget. Could you please tell me how LED halogen setup prove better ?

Also, the sale has already begun. Once these LED arrive I will purchase the Philips ones too and go for the upgrades together. I am also ordering some W5W bulbs for position lamps.

Are there any better fog lamp LED options available in your opinion ?

Old 10th November 2018, 22:24   #11315

Greetings Folks,

Please do pardon my errors as i am new to the forum. I have used the available thread search tools to search for my answers however could not find any answers for my LED related query.

I had a quick question about Volkswagen Polo 2018's headlights upgrades.
As per my knowledge goes the stock headlights are H7 in the double barrels with 60/55 W and 35W H8 in fog lamps.
Pardon my ignorance but I was just wondering if the headlight housing of Vento fits into Polo. If yes then that could be an option to explore.
Old 10th November 2018, 22:31   #11316

Thank you for your quick revert. I was thinking of just upgrading all the bulbs to LED and not a halogen led blend as the all led described setup fits my budget. Could you please tell me how LED halogen setup prove better ?

Also, the sale has already begun. Once these LED arrive I will purchase the Philips ones too and go for the upgrades together. I am also ordering some W5W bulbs for position lamps.

Are there any better fog lamp LED options available in your opinion ?

Then go for it. I suggested first trying led in only low beam first just incase the led ones give a different beam pattern that may be out of focus as the car reflectors were designed for halogen use and using LED may not give the best result. LED bulbs also usually do not give great results in high beam as they spread too much and for high beams you need a focused hotspot of light. But then these new ultra bright philips ones may be good.

Fog lamps in most cars barely throw any usable light. Not sure of Polo but these should be much better than stock ones anyway. There is a Hella micro de sealed projector too which a lot of people use but that will involve retrofitting which you are averse to so just go ahead with the ones you chose. Barely cost 1.5k anyway.
Old 11th November 2018, 13:36   #11317

3" projector fog lamps in 2018 Innova Crysta

Hi Friends,
I am posting this on behalf of my friend.
Has someone installed the xp micro 3inch projector foglamps on the innova crysta gx,, and will it fit directly kindly share some pics of the same and part number for the extra foglamp switch for the high low beam change
Old 12th November 2018, 22:49   #11318

Hi guys

Has anyone tried replacing the halogens on thar with LEDs with success. There are too many options on AliExpress and I am confused between doing a 100/90 watt halogen upgrade or getting LEDs from AliExpress. Aim is to improve the visibility and don't want to go any whiter than 4300k. Would appreciate if someone could guide me in the right direction.

Old 13th November 2018, 09:48   #11319

Originally Posted by bad_azz View Post
Hi guys

Has anyone tried replacing the halogens on thar with LEDs with success. There are too many options on AliExpress and I am confused between doing a 100/90 watt halogen upgrade or getting LEDs from AliExpress. Aim is to improve the visibility and don't want to go any whiter than 4300k. Would appreciate if someone could guide me in the right direction.

Any day i would choose 100/90 phillips Rally if your looking a visibility upgrade.They are way way better then led's at-least in my opinion on my cars compared to led's.
Old 14th November 2018, 01:16   #11320

Originally Posted by bad_azz View Post
Hi guys

Hi, I have replaced all my bulbs with Philip Ultinon LED's and its amazing, the sheer output and visibility is a lot better. Highly recommended.

Hi, good projectors start upwards of 14k with installation, what you are reffering to is mostly chinese ballasts and projectors. Plus, most installers tend to do shoddy work.
Old 14th November 2018, 12:01   #11321

Originally Posted by devilwearsprada View Post
Hi, good projectors start upwards of 14k with installation, what you are reffering to is mostly chinese ballasts and projectors. Plus, most installers tend to do shoddy work.
Thats not always true. Most manufacturing is done in china only and is rebranded and sold elsewhere. I have a simple H1 projector still running after 5 years with no major drop in performance that back then costed me just around 5k, with a 10k budget once can get good stuff and a good Bi-Xenon projector kit will always outperform a LED bulb in halogen reflectors setup. Also projectors are nowdays quite plug and play. As long as they are sealed properly they will barely need any slignment etc. One can screw up even a simpler bulb swap but yes those are easier to do for even the most newbie installer.

If possible do share some output pics of your upgrade too. Have heard good stuff about these philips LED bulbs.
Old 14th November 2018, 14:29   #11322

Originally Posted by scorpian View Post
Any day i would choose 100/90 phillips Rally if your looking a visibility upgrade.They are way way better then led's at-least in my opinion on my cars compared to led's.
Thar needs a reflector upgrade, since the stock reflector beam pattern is a bit too narrow.

Originally Posted by devilwearsprada View Post
Hi, I have replaced all my bulbs with Philip Ultinon LED's and its amazing, the sheer output and visibility is a lot better. Highly recommended.
I was interested in doing such a swap but then came across this problem.

As per the spec sheet the philips ultinon (H4) is 1000/1350 lms and Philips white vision (halogen) H4 is 1000/1650 Lms.

It looks like i`ll be getting less light with LED.
Old 14th November 2018, 14:51   #11323

Originally Posted by scorpian View Post
I'm running 90/100 bulbs with relay in main beams and a DIY bixenon projector in the fogs. The high beams of fogs are connected to main lights, so no additional switches are needed.

The only suggestion I would give to others is stick with 4300K bulbs. My fogs are 5000K as seller didn't have 4300K back then. I plan to rectify it soon by ordering 4300K bulbs from the same seller.

Here is a video I shot on the day of the installation. It was raining heavily in the night:

Mismatch in colours with both on:
Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here-1b3b79f5f5ad4e27af2d8e6504c3b2af.jpg

Just fogs on (low):
Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here-img_3821.jpg

Fogs + low beam:
Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here-img_3822.jpg

Low beam:
Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here-img_3823.jpg

As you guys can see, there is not a drastic difference between just the main beams and fogs + main beams, but the advantages are better high beam flash (as seen in video it easily reaches mirrors of the slow moving trucks on fast lanes) and improved visibility at the sides as well.

I rarely use full high beams so this setup works for me. For someone who frequently uses high beam, the 90/100 could damage the reflector due to the heat. Overall output of the system is same as before (55/60W headlight to 90/100W and 55W OE fogs to 35W hid projectors). I also take precaution to turn off the light at standstill to avoid heat issues. Had used 90/100 on my old Grande Punto as well as on my Abarth for a combined of more than 5 years. Never had reflector damage.

The setup cost me around 6k for the projectors and around 1k for the 90/100 bulbs with relay. And this is my main problem with LEDs. For this price point, you can't get any sort of LED lights and even spending a lot will give you marginal gains at best. However, LEDs make sense for those having single filament bulbs as I have not seen an equivalent 90/100 setup using relay and halogen bulbs.

Last edited by blackwasp : 14th November 2018 at 14:54.
blackwasp is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 14th November 2018, 15:08   #11324

Hi Team,
I recently changed my Hexa headlamps to LED @ TASS. I'm not very happy with the alignment of the headlights and the TASS guys are not very cooperative on the same. Could you please let me know if there are any garage or specialist I can get it rectified. I'm based out of Bangalore , Basaveswaranagara.

Thanks in Advance
Old 15th November 2018, 08:25   #11325

Originally Posted by arundeepbv View Post
Could you please let me know if there are any garage or specialist I can get it rectified.
I know mrf tyredrome does headlight alignments. Check in your city if they have a presence.
diyguy is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com